Prayer Without Worry - Let Go and Let God! - Enjoy wit Troy!steemCreated with Sketch.

Praayer 4.jpg

I have often sensed the concern for Christians who pray who worry. It is as though they cannot release that prayer to God. They want Him to help them however there is not enough trust to let God do his job. So as is the case they pray and they worry. They pray and they worry. They repeat this pattern 100,000 times over. Why? Where is the fine line between praying without ceasing and praying and worrying.

Worry 2.jpg

Worry 7.gif

Many church tell their parishioners to pray yet do not teach them how to overcome the psychological baggage that causes them to worry. It would seam easy to "Let Go and Let God" but it is not. Many churches have a small staff and are not properly trained in the psychological and emotional inhibitors in the Christian walk. Some people have trust issues - PTSD 9Post- Traumatic Stress Disorder), were abused, neglected, cheated on in a relationship - that prevent them from truly trusting God.

SOME THINGS THAT MAY HELP:

COUNSELING:

Counseling.jpg

Either a professional counselor or pastor who is truly trained. This does not happen overnight and can take a number of months or years in some instances. It depends how much baggage you have. I would also include a support group or 12 -step group in this category. It is nice to know there are others like yourself who can encourage you. Sometime a sponsor helps who has been there and can mentor you.

PHYSICAL OBJECTS:

For some people who have been abused or have suffered trauma, a physical object or gift may be resourceful. Perhaps a cross or jewelry, song or poem that the person can identify with will help. However it is not a one shoe fits all. I once gave my sweetheart a gold cross with the inscription " I am here always" implying both God and me. She still worried and could not let go of her worry. I know of another instance where a Christian song was written and recorded for a family who lost their home from a fire. I believe that did help them. It seams it is a case by case basis.

BOOKS AND MATERIALS:

There are books and materials out there to help. Author Melodie Beatitie, has writen several books that are resourceful in overcoming these issues. "Codependent's Guide to the Twelve Steps" is a patterned after the Biblical steps and most helpful in overcoming trust and baggage. In likeness the Al-Alon books also offer the same 12 steps. These book are invaluable however you must work the steps to see results. Another of Melodie Beattie books include "Codependent No More". There are Christian authors as well who have touched on this subject. who are worth the read.

1979 Troy Harris at Drake Music Symposium.jpg

I remember when I was young I used to sing in front of audiences. I would get nervous and my voice and limbs would tremble in fear. I studied and majored in vocal performance in college. Two of my professors tried to address these issues with me. Although it was not until several years following college that I got control of my nerves when I sang. Today I am fine and comfortable in any crowd.

(

I believe worrying is the same way. Folks can give you tools to overcome it. But it is up to you inside to find the trust to believe and not worry. You can read all the books, have meaningful objects and even have professional counseling,but if you cannot be able to conquer the fears, it will not work. It has got to come from inside. It comes from overcoming baggage, low self-esteem and negative thoughts that have infested your brain for decades. It is a process but the road to recovery is worth it. It frees you from the chains and bondage that drags you down in life and offers new breath to trust, pray and move forward, uplifting others as you do.

Worry 4.jpg

Worry 6.jpg

God takes care of the little sparrow. How much more will he take care of us! I remember the old hymn " His Eye is On the Sparrow". Why should I worry when Jesus is my portion. My constant friend is He! His eye is on the sparrow...and I know he watches me. The sparrow never frets he finds food and shelter and enjoys life. So too we can be when we let go of our worry and fear and put ALL of our trust in God.

Consider overcoming your worry and baggage that weighs you down. Consider help others who need this burden taken from them. Together folks then may reach their God given potential and make a difference in Life.

images (11).jpg

Thank for reading! Feel free to comment, upVote or Resteem! - Blessings - Troy

Sort:  

Good stuff my friend..I guess Im guilty of it myself sometimes

We all are. Thanks for taking time. I value your reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41