You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Even to the third and fourth generations?

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

So, how do we reconcile your concept of "generational curses" with verses like Ezekiel 18:20 "The soul who sins is the one who will die. A son will not bear the iniquity of the father, and a father will not bear the iniquity of the son."?

First of all, thank you for commenting and taking the time to read my post. The post, obviously, is not an exhaustive study in regards to “generational curses”. It wasn’t meant to be. However, I must admit that I was a bit scattered in my thoughts. How so? I failed to clearly layout the difference between INIQUITY and CURSES. Two very different words with two very different meanings.

Iniquity is sin – transgression of YHWH’s commandments – at its’ worst. Iniquity is rebellion in the worst kind of way. And when taken in the context of Exodus 34:6-7, YHWH is referring to iniquity. A curse (in many cases but not all), on the other hand, is a consequence of the transgression. We clearly see that in Genesis 3 where YHWH cursed the ground because of Adam. The serpent was cursed as well because of his iniquity. As a consequence of Adams sin, we have been cursed – generationally – with death (both spiritual and physical). Is that not the case?

The context of Ezekiel 18 is not summed up in verse 20. Its’ context starts much earlier and ends much later. YHWH is actually rebuking the Jews for seemingly accusing Him of being unjust, which is ridiculous. So, YHWH is laying it all out to them through his prophet. He basically sums up His instructions (law) to them and declares that He is and always has been just. Then He tells them very plainly, “Therefore I will judge you, O house of Israel, every one according to his ways, declares the Lord GOD. Repent and turn from all your transgressions, lest iniquity be your ruin. Cast away from you all the transgressions that you have committed, and make yourselves a new heart and a new spirit! Why will you die, O house of Israel? For I have no pleasure in the death of anyone, declares the Lord GOD; so turn, and live.”

Bottomline, turn – repent - and live. A father who indulges in idolatry, sexual immorality, adultery, and rebellion is heaping curses upon his family. If he does not repent and cast away all the transgressions that he has committed, then he shall perish in his sins. The children are unfortunately affected by their father’s iniquity and they are cursed (afflicted/tormented/wounded) because of it. What does that mean? It means that they are more-than-likely going to repeat the sins of the father. That’s the “curse” that YHWH allows until someone turns from their wicked ways. Why? Because He is just. It's not about being fair. The iniquity of the father that is visited upon the children is broken when the child refuses to do as their father did and repent (King Josiah). Therefore the “son will not bear the iniquity of the father” because of their turning away and seeking after righteousness.

Like I said in my post, “Turn away from transgression and be holy as He is holy. Blessings will replace the curses to the thousandth generation!” It starts with repentance. And we know that our Heavenly Father is faithful and just to forgive us of our sins when we do so. Again, I was a bit scattered in my post. I do believe in “generational curses”, however, in two very different ways. The obvious “generational curses” – that can be observed carnally – are those of learned behavior, such as, anger, violent outbursts, alcoholism, drug abuse, adultery, physical abuse, etc. Those behavioral flaws are normally learned by the children and carried into their adulthood. I know, it happened to me and I have seen it with others. The not-so-obvious, are those curses brought about because of secret oaths, witchcraft, necromancy, paganism, and new-age practice. Again, I know, because I was a practicing pagan/occultist for most of my life and was passing that “curse” onto my children. Perhaps this whole discussion is more so a matter of semantics. Words do in fact matter.

Even though I was made a new creature in Messiah by His precious blood. Even though I was redeemed and delivered from all unrighteousness. I still had to deal with the “curses” that I had placed upon my family. I gave legal rights to demons in my household. I had to wrestle with them in the name of Y’shua/Jesus! I had to take back my household, property, and family! I had to be the priest of my household, Godly husband to my wife, and Godly father to my children. It was not an easy task, but by the power of the Holy Spirit, all the curses have been broken, severed, and sealed by the blood of my Master. I had to pray it and live it. My earthly father is still in bondage. He’s still angry and unforgiving. I had to pray against that which I had inherited from him; not for my sake but for the sake of my children’s children. Call it whatever you want, it had to be done and I have seen the fruit of it.

I hope this finds you well. Again, thanks for commenting and stopping by.

Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61434.10
ETH 2474.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64