From Islam to the cross. My testimony.

in #christian-trail7 years ago

Hey guys I’ve recently joined Steemit and I have done an introduction about my self however I have not shared my spiritual path to the cross and I have decided that I should because God has done incredible things in my life that I think its worth sharing

My name is Amir I was born in Baghdad Iraq, to a family of 6. I am the eldest out my siblings and I am the only boy out of the 4 kids (I know right) growing up in Iraq was hard often there was constant war and it seemed like it would never end. When I was born my father was serving in the military during the Iraq-Iran war. My father hated it but he had no choice he had to otherwise Saddam would probably kill us all. Anyways my family saw that raising four kids in Iraq was pointless and that there was no future, so they decided to move somewhere where we can have a future.

We moved to Turkey so that we can apply to the UN ( united nations) because Turkey was the closest country to us. Our first application got denied due to my father being involved in the military, this was an extremely difficult time for us because we had sold everything and moved hoping that thi process would work. Well it didn’t and now we were in a tough situation. My mom decided that she would apply as a single mother with four kids out of desperation and in hopefully bring my dad after we had settled in a country. The UN responded very quickly and told her that we got accepted to go to Winnipeg, MB Canada. Never heard of this place we instantly accepted.

We arrived in Winnipeg, I was 12 and it was in the winter. Winter toke on a new meaning when we arrived because before that wed never experienced winter, we never seen snow let alone -25 C. Growing in Canada was very hard by this time my mom and dad split up my mother had a stroke right as soon as we got to Canada so I had a lot of responsibility. Through out all of high school I was a very busy teenager with sports and activity’s it was until I graduated high school I started hanging around with the wrong crown of people. I started partying hard and got into doing cocaine. Not having a father started to hit me hard. At some point, I started selling cocaine and had a weapon that I got charged for and ended up in jail for 6 months. After experiencing jail, I wanted to change my life so I got a job I started dating a nice girl and it seemed that I was getting back on the right track. My girlfriend at the time started to tell me about Jesus, I was a Muslim and I was starting to take my religion seriously and so was she. I didn’t know anything about Jesus, and she kept on telling me about what he has done and how he died on the cross for our sins. After many weeks of strongly refusing to speak about Jesus and the bible some stuff that she was saying started to make sense.

I was very confused at this point so one day she said instead of praying the traditional Muslim way why don’t you just simply ask God to show you a sign and end it in the name of Jesus. I remember going to bed and I had asked God that if he can show me a sign about Jesus and if Jesus is real. Well the following day I was at work, we usually wait for our boss and we sit and have a coffee before he lets us know what we are doing. My boss was a catholic by association he would always say negative things about his experience in church every time he went. except that morning he stormed in very excited to tell four Muslim employees about Jesus and how great Jesus was. He kept on saying that Jesus was a good Man. I stood there in shock. I’ve prayed many times in the traditional Muslim way and never had a prayed answered like this one especially the day after. My mind was racing I couldn’t work all day, I kept on thinking about Jesus, I was shocked that God would answer my prayer that fast and that Jesus must me who the bible says he is. Well a couple of days past by and I remember asking my self if I don’t believe this sign that God had showed me then I am in idiot. I was reading my bible all night and I was so amazed by the gospels and especially the way Jesus spoke, right there and then I knew Jesus was not just a human he was the Son of God. Shortly after I decided to join a church, and got baptized this was in 2012. I can honestly say that giving my life to Jesus was the best decision ill ever make.

I am still attending the church of Christ I have been giving many opportunities to teach, song lead and pray in front of the congregation. I am so blessed to be a part of Gods family.

Thank you for reading my testimony and God bless!

This is a pic after my baptism:)

Sort:  

God bless you, your family and your girlfriend!

Thank you!

excellent conversion story. I was baptized Jan. 1998 and it was the greatest day of my life. A lot of people (including fellow Christians) talk a lot of stuff about a lot of things. Don't listen. Follow your conscience and don't stop asking the hard questions. Most important, don't gloss over the answers that don't mesh with what you think you know. If you take my advise you will thank me someday. I wish someone had told this to me back in '98. Peace be with you, brother.

edit: Dig deep into Church history. It took me ten years to discover how rich our history is and how many writings exist from before the New Testament was even a thing. I would save you some time. They won't teach it in Sunday school, so you'll have to seek it out yourself.

Thanks, will do!

Thanks for ur amaizing testimony

Not a problem

This is so inspirational. I am at work and getting emotional reading your testimony. I have seen similar instances where people have prayed that same prayer for a sign. My mom is one. I will tell yo about her story sometime. It's equally miraculous.

Thank you so much for sharing Amir.

would love to hear!

Great testimony

Praise God for His love and mercy towards us! Thank you for sharing your testimony, drogs, and welcome to Steemit too. God bless!

Thanks same to you!

Praise Jesus

Thanks for letting your hard down and sharing your life with us here. You've got courage and what a grand adventure you're on! Like I've said before, the best is yet to come. Shalom, friend.

Welcome to Steemit @drogs :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Congratulations @drogs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65927.86
ETH 3481.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66