An Icon for Life... Billy Graham

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

chi-billy13balcony-20041031.jpg
Source

Today's post is a sourced cummulative of writings and quotes from the great man of God who has been called "home".

Billy Graham (1918-2018).

I love the fact that...

Graham never built a megachurch, set up a relief agency, launched a political lobby or ran for office. Yet he redefined American Protestant life by popularizing Christianity's core message — Christ died for your sins — downplaying denominational details and proclaiming the joys found in faith. Source

Graham met, prayed with, comforted and joked with 12 U.S. presidents. He found a fine balance that allowed him to become America's pastor, Democrat or Republican. North or South. Source

Graham noted that many people tried to avoid this inescapable reality of Death by playing word games, by changing the title of a cemetery to a memorial park, for example. But he left them no loopholes. First, he said, “accept the fact that you will die.” Second, “make arrangements.” Third, “make provision for those you are leaving behind.” And finally, “make an appointment with God.” Source

Graham held more than 400 crusades in 185 countries and territories across six continents — reaching 215 million people, according to the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association.Source

Graham was consistently listed on Gallup's poll of the "10 Most Admired Men in the World." Although he's never been No. 1, Graham has made the list 61 times since 1955. Source

Here are some of my favourite Billy Graham quotes...

"Are you frustrated, bewildered, dejected, breaking under the strains of life? "Then listen for a moment to me. Say yes to the savior tonight, and in a moment you will know such comfort as you have never known."

"We are a society poised on the brink of self-destruction. But what is the real cause? What is the problem? The problem is within ourselves."

"Being a Christian is more than just an instantaneous conversion - it is a daily process whereby you grow to be more and more like Christ."

"Most of my life has already been lived," I'll be glad when the moment comes when the Lord calls me to heaven. I get tired down here sometimes."

"Heaven doesn’t make this life less important; it makes it more important."

Watch this amazing video, part of "My Hope With Billy Graham" - an urgent message of Hope from Billy Graham, featuring Lacey Sturm and Lecrae. http://www.findingmyhope.org/

It doesn't matter what your background, race, religion, culture, nationality... this message of Hope and Salvation is for ALL.

I was and am still a sinner.

I will never be able to find my way (or work my way to heaven).

There is only one way. Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life.

May you find His Love for your life today... for eternity.

Thank you Mr. Graham!

~ a legacy of a life well lived, and a purpose fulfilled.


All quotes are Billy Graham's.

Sort:  

I never knew him until I suddenly one day just type the name Billy Graham and got blown away by what and how God use him. It’s just amazing. We just need to be willing & available. Such a great man of God. @coachmelleow

Thanks @chloephuan93. Yes... and be obedient as well. Blessings!

obedient is very important!

My first exposure to Reverend Graham was via my Grandmother's old TV. She would tune into each of his Televised services. He had a great voice, and was steadfast in his beliefs. He will be missed.

Thank you @josephlwiess. I can't say I have a memory like that. I wish I had. He was an icon that so many spoke about. But certainly his impact and influence will be remembered and greatly missed (as you so aptly pointed out). Blessings to you!

Thank you for sharing this inspirational post. I have always admired Billy Graham and he will be missed.

Apologies for coming back so late to respond to you @givonwayne...

Agree he will he missed. But we have to also focus on building the next generation of young men and women. 👍🏻👍🏻

I actually never really listened to his sermons, believe it or not; but I always read his quotes and important messages shared by many leaders and friends.

His 99th birthday message on YouTube is truly important not only to his beloved United States of America; but it is also very important for the world to understand.

One of the most prominent message he shared that was aired on his 99th birthday message was:

"We live before a watching world, a world that is waiting to see if what we say is lived in our lives."

His Walk the Talk consistent reminder lives in me. We stumble, at times, yes, but with Christ in us we keep standing up again, brush off, and move forward.

As the world mourn for his departure, Heaven rejoices for his arrival.

Amen my dear sister! It's also time for the next generation to rise up and take up their cross.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67334.64
ETH 3519.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.10