Back from a Spiritual Exercise; Now Am Better

in #christian-trail6 years ago

IMG_20171216_124000.jpg

On Monday 25th December, after the activities for that day was over, I wrote an article informing everyone that I will be going on leave for three days to strengthen myself spiritually.

The experience was a good one and I am really grateful to God for granting me the opportunity to carry out this spiritual exercise.

The journey started on Tuesday 26th of December with recitation of the Holy Rosary and offering a lot of thanks to God for the blessings I have received during the year which is gradually coming to an end.
So as to appreciate God to the fullest even though I know I can't really thank Him enough, I dedicated the whole day to thanking Him for the numerous blessings I have received, the Grace's, the Mercy He has shown me a sinner and a worst one. I know that when praises goes up, blessings come down
. St Augustine of Hippo said he who sings well prays twice so I sang to praise my God though with a bad voice...lollll

IMG_20171228_151141.jpg

IMG_20171228_151006.jpg
Above is a picture of my Rosary and hymn book and below are the pictures I took showing my Bible, Breviary, Collection of Litanies
PhotoGrid_1514472912318.jpg
PhotoGrid_1514472954671.jpg

PhotoGrid_1514473086789.jpg
PhotoGrid_1514473001844.jpg

PhotoGrid_1514473048724.jpg

On the 27th of December; the second day of the retreat, all I did was to ask for pardon and forgiveness. I know all have sinned and come short of the glory of the Lord, I understand what th Bible said about who can come to the mountain of the Lord; a person with a pure heart and a pure hand. No one needs to tell me that sin delays one's prayers from being answered, the prayers of a sinner is an abomination before God and all that have sinned have also fallen short of the Grace of God. I acknowledged all my wrong doings and went before the throne of mercy asking for pardon and forgiveness. I believe He is slow to anger and abounding in love and mercy, He does not want the death of a sinner but for the sinner to repent, He said we should come all of us who are heavy laddened and He will give is rest, He said we should come and settle the matter; if our sins are as red as scarlet, He will make them white as wool, if they are like scarlet, He will make them white like snow.
This particular day, I took the divine mercy prayers in the middle of the night by 3:00am and also 3:00pm GMT. I was really happy and felt relieved from a great burden after asking for pardon. Then I warmed up for the third day which was a day to GET BACK EVERYTHING I HAVE LOST AND TO GET EVERYTHING I NEED FOR THE NEW YEAR WE ARE ENTERING.

The third day was a Thursday and it marked the end of my retreat with a powerful prayer session asking God for a lot of things because He said we should ask and it shall be given, we should knock and the door shall be opened, we should find and we shall see. Christ Himself said it that whatever we ask in His Name shall be granted us because the Name of the Lord is a strong tower and the righteous runs into it and are saved, the scriptures males us to understand that He has inscribed us on the palm of His hands and even if a mother will forget her baby while breastfeeding the child, He will never forget us, all we just have to do is to ask from Him.
I used the power in my tongue to ask from Him all I want in this new year, the success I wish to achieve this new year (I also asked Him to make me succeed on steemit...... Lolllllll).

It should be noted that during this period of retreat:
*1) my phone was in airplane mode cos I don't want to be disturbed, I don't want to talk to anyone except God.

2)I also didn't talk to any human being till I finished the retreat. I really wanted a personal encounter with God without disturbance.

3)I didn't go out of my apartment, I was indoor all through.

After the retreat, it was and till now enjoyment galore for me, I took milk with hot water to step down and then ate Jollof Rice with plantain and turkey, after eating, I stepped everything down with a cold malt.
IMG_20171228_121326.jpg
IMG_20171228_122858.jpg
IMG_20171228_143035.jpg

Well, I have not come here to make you know what I did because I want to feel proud that I pray, the reason for this post is to make you think about what have happened to you during the course of this year that is running to an end, do you think it will be good to just end the year without having a one on one contact with God. Believe me, I feel different after this encounter with God, I feel I am going to achieve everything I set my hands upon next year, I feel spiritually matured, I feel there is no power on earth that will overcome me, I feel next year is going to be great for me.

If you think there is no time again, there is still time; Friday, Saturday and Sunday is still there, you might even use just only one day for your own retreat, just ensure you do away with all forms of distraction.

I have it in mind to make a video soon to inform fellow steemians better on how to make a better retreat, am just waiting for the network to be better here.

Kindly resteem this post.

I remain your humble boy @camillius

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66705.81
ETH 3626.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93