Nippur, Holy City of Enlil

in #christ7 years ago (edited)

I have posted this before, but it was some time ago, when I had far fewer followers. Now the information can be of benefit to a larger number.

Nippur was among the most ancient of Sumerian cities Ca. 5300 BCE. It was the special seat of the worship of the Sumerian god Enlil, the "Lord Wind," ruler of the cosmos, subject to An alone. Nippur was located in modern Nuffar in Afak, Al-Qādisiyyah Governorate, Iraq

Sort:  

This post has received a 5.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mstaader.

Thanks for the knowledge. Would've loved to see this place.

Awesome... I wish I could visit these sites one day

I bet it has a very interesting vibe there. Would be fascinating to see and feel it!

I can't wait to learn our real history!

That was sooo long ago! I am shocked to see any of it still there at all .. and how terrain changes !

Seems only fitting that syria, iraq etc. are in full blown proxy war. Coincidence?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43