Can anyone tell me when this candy bar expires? And some other questions.

in #chocolate8 years ago (edited)

I love my Hershey's chocolate bars, especially when I'm stoned. I can't stop eating them. So yesterday I am at the grocery store, and I see the 6 pack of Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars on sale, for like $3.49 or something. I think man that sounds good right now. I haven't had one of those in a while, and with 6 of them, I could have like one a day for a week.

Hersheys

What the hell, I'll get them. I finish shopping and go to the register to check out, and I see the same candy bars are on sale for 50 cents each. My brain does some quick math, and I realize, Holy Shit, that is cheaper then the 6 pack.

Then I think to my self, I probably shouldn't get 6 of them, cause I may eat them all in one night.

Ok, I'll just get 2.

So I put the 6 pack down and grab 2 single bars. I drive home and decide to start making some dinner. I have a bunch of fresh veggies that I'm going to cook up, and I'll throw some brats on the grill. Oh, before I start cooking, I think I'll smoke a little weed, that will help my back feel better, since I hurt it last week.

So I go and meditate myself in my backyard paradise, see photo below. It might not look like much to some people, but it's my own piece of heaven with noone around.

yard

Anyways, back to the chocolate bar story. I cook my food and eat it, and then Sheldon wants to go out, so I grab my medication and head back to paradise. Shown below is Sheldon taking a piss.

Sheldon

I smoke a bowl and I'm feeling good when I get back to the house. And then it hits me, I have those Hershey bars, man that sounds good right now. I don't know what it is about chocolate when I'm stoned, but I always crave it. That's why I normally don't even buy it, because when I'm high I eat all of it.

So I grab the first bar, and I happen to notice these printed numbers on the back, it's not part of the packing, but like a manufacturing timestamp. I have never noticed this before. What looks to me like an expiration date, reads BB 08 2017. I had to do a double take, cause being stoned I thought it might have said FEB instead of BB. Take a look below. It is definitely BB.

chocolate bar

My first guess is it stands for February, and AA would be January, and CC would be March, and so on. But why the fuck would a company put some code on the package to try to give an expiration date? Does anyone know for sure? Can anyone come up with a funny story to make me laugh? There may be some steem in it for you if I really like the story. I still don't fully understand how that steem power and cash work, but some day I'll figure it out.

One other thing I noticed about this package is how short the USB code is. It's only 8 digits, counting the leading 0 and ending 5. Most UPC codes are 12 digits. I thought well maybe on food its only 8 digits, so I looked at a box of cereal and it was 12 digits. What makes a Hershey's chocolate bar so special that it only needs 8 digits?

That's all for now. Please answer any of my questions in the reply area, and follow me for more crazy questions like this, because I am always wondering stupid shit like this.

Sort:  

Hershey – Expire Date

First number is year (0-9) second letter is month (A-L, which is Jan-Dec). However, some codes are like JAN2010, which needs no explanation.

So from above information I would conclude that BB is February, AA is January and so forth.

I'll let somebody else handle UPC

http://www.candywrapperarchive.com/candy-collector/reading-candy-bar-freshness-codes/

Thanks coinz.

Why in the hell would a company do this. Why not just make it easy on the consumer and put the actual date?

It actually does, it says 08/2017 which is the expiry date, not sure what BB means.

It actually does, it says 08/2017 which is the expiry date, not sure what BB means.

"best by"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33