You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chinese Decision Makes me a little happy... why?

in #china7 years ago (edited)

I too haven't invested in Asian coins because I do not understand them. The only one I've invested in is OMG because of their track record previously and their mission. This was the only Asian token I was comfortable touching. (see: https://cointelegraph.com/news/omisego-unfazed-by-chinas-ico-ban)

I will disagree with you when you say that the US has banned ICO's and "we have done quite well". I think I understand what you're getting at, but the US is losing talent and business opportunities due to these restrictions. Yes, the US crypto folks have flexed well despite the restrictions, but I wouldn't suggest that the US is a burgeoning place of crypto investment right now (it's no where near the levels it could be). I fear that the longer the US waits to allow crypto to be more ubiquitous with capital raises, the more talent we will lose to the likes of Europe, Russia, and other so-called crypto safe havens.

Sort:  

Oh, yes, I totally agree about us losing what could be done in the US. My politics is, I would prefer none of it banned and let people fend for themselves to make their own mistakes.

Seems to be what happens with the US cryptos that launch, if they want to do an ICO, they launch elsewhere to get around the restrictions. I am not sure how block.one is operating, whether they are outside the US or inside the US. The EOS issuance itself may very well fall under crowdfunding, at least that seems to be how it was all worded and established in their docs. Recently, I was reading a news article about how equity crowdfunding was made legal in the US.

What I meant about doing well is, the ban doesn't prevent cryptos from soaring... we figure ways around the regs to get the projects launched anyway. A bit inconvenient for some to have to move outside the US to launch a project, but some people are willing.

True!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81