What the Heck is a Camel Doing Near the School I Work At?

in #china7 years ago (edited)

I took a brief stroll up another hill by my school at lunch to check out some horses and I found a camel.

It's still the first year this private school as been open so all around it is still quite rural tucked away in little pockets surrounded by steep hills. It really makes for nice scenery and sun rises. It's well off the beaten path with hardly any cars driving by or taxi's honking their horns, peddlers hollering out what ever good or service they have on offer.

I've been taking short hikes up the different hills that encompasses the campus during the little free time I have. I've mentioned the horses in other posts when they were grazing right beside the sports field a month ago or so. They have since moved on to greener pastures sort of. They went up the hill where the, well, less green but more abundant, grass still remains.

So Franc and Richard and myself took a walk up to find them and give them an apple. They went up some pretty steep parts but we followed their hoof marks and fresh dropping until they appeared over the ridge. They kind of remembered me from the last time I took photos and one let me get in close enough to t feed my lunch apple right from my hand.

Oh yea, and as we trekked back down the other side of the hill we came across a lone double humped camel. How out of place is that. There free range chicken running around and some ducks in the distance. I'm sure if I wandered around the structures some more I would find goats and other small livestock.

Nice working out here and living downtown but man it's such commute to get here and home everyday. I should probably move closer but I really where I love where I live now. Great quiet downtown location and a landlord that speaks perfect English in Dalian China. And the really cute girl that lives in the building next to mine that likes to help me out when I'm hungry for dumplings. More on that later I hope.


Left to right, Me, Franc and Richard the foreign English teachers in our department.

Sort:  

Wow thats pretty random to see a camel of that size in general, let alone in that area! Keep the great photos coming!

Thanks, It does appear to be quite healthy.

Haha wow the place you live really offers a lot of cool surprises. I heard in the north they have some liquor made of came lol milk ?

Ree ee ee ally? I'm gonna have to find some of that. Just to say i tried it.

Hehe It would make a good story

seems that school has a mini zoo

I think they will develop this nearby area into a place where students can get much closer. Students aren't allowed to the leave immediate premises. This school has another campus closer to downtown, much smaller but they have rabbits the students feed and can touch.

it's good to expose the little ones to different creatures. 😎

Haha first the horses... now the camels!

Seriously.. what's next? Alligators must be hiding somewhere.

at this rate I'm thinkin' Zebras

nice photography man ...

Thanks. BlackBerry DTek 50 camera phone. Not too shabby

Some one big sat on the camel and made 2 humps. Lol.

haha. I can see that happening. lol

Nice photography!!
its cool!!

grate job, your photography is nice, thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84