What's Become of the Old Japanese Houses in Dalian China. Night Time.

in #china7 years ago

An evening stroll through peaceful Japanese relics on the way to the pub for Open Mic hosted by Merideth and Cody.


I don't know if this a regular thing yet but it should be. Last Sunday my new friends, that I met at the May Day Braai I posted about a few weeks, invited me to attend a night of entertainment and good food. I have passed by this place a several times in the day, not too often at night so it was a good opportunity to see something new. I already knew they got talent so why not see what else is going down in Dalian.

This part of the city during the Japanese occupation back before WW2, this neighbourhood is where the Japanese officials lived. Huge houses with courtyards and quiet walkways. Mature trees surrounded by gardens and people just wandering about chatting with their friends and family walking dogs.

I don't think anyone lives in these houses now, just too damn expensive; if you got the money I'm sure there are nice homes on the coast. These have been converted into businesses and restaurants.

One of those restaurants is American owned called "The Nest" which has amazing authentic American cuisine. Really top notch food that would attracting foodies if it was located in any country. They were much busier this night then they were prepared for so the service was quite slow and the poor waiter was completely overwhelmed. It was a good night though I would definitely do it again. Hope sooner than later.

It's not too often I go to a bar or restaurant and most of the people there are not Chinese. It was very multicultural.

So let's see, I landed in China, I found Japan and now I'm sitting in a room listening to music and poetry English. Wild world.

Here is Merideth and Cody rocking one of their sets. Total crowd pleasers.

If you come to Dalian make sure you you try The Nest. Great food good vibes and a dash of history. Send me a message and I'd be happy to take you.

*TIC = This Is China

May Day Braai
https://steemit.com/may-day/@solarguy/may-day-braai-five-the-best-party-dalian-ever-had

Sort:  

I guess in many cities, it quite often happens that the old and grand place end up as some eating or drinking place.

Congratulations @solarguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Cool thanks. I will check it out.

That looks like a really cool place to hang out. Sometimes going to a place you've been but at night gives you a new perspective. I like the the lit up trees. So what is authentic American cuisine in Dalian? Here in America, Chinese food really isn't Chinese food but Americanized versions. It's hard to find authentic. I'm always curious what other countries serve as authentic American food.

Yes, that is also true in Canada. Most Chinese food in Toronto is Hong Kong or South Chinese style like sichuan. Since I've been here I haven't found any of my favourite Chinese dishes I ate back home. It's so different here. I am lucky to be living in a city that doesn;t eat too much of the weird stuff we see on TV, or I'd be obligated to try it. It's good, ehem, most of the time. lol

My friend went over there on business. He said its impossible to get good Chinese food LOL!
BTW I followed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99