I Was Served and Ate These 茧蛹 and Some Other Delicious Foods.

in #china7 years ago

One of the fun things I enjoy when being the only western guy at the table is the weird food I am offered to eat. I do try everything, sometimes more than once just in case it tastes different when prepared a different way.

Like these cocoons called 茧蛹

Which was not my first time but my third. I still don't like them. You don't eat the shell, just guts which has the texture of scrambled eggs but the taste is quite bitter.

This was a sweet dish. Made from sugar syrup like honey, maybe it was honey. They drizzle from up high above the dish and as it falls it becomes crystals and hardens into a picture perfect dish. It was good. Fun to watch it fall in to place.

And of course the druken guy who is either yelling I'm a great friend or he's pissed about something. lol

He's actually nice guy and pays for everyone and everything.

Ready to try something new? Want a new life? Job security and make enough money to do what you want and put some in savings?

Come teach in China I got a job lined up for you.

Sort:  

Bit curious because the first character of 茧蛹 refer the silkworm.
So, i did a baidu on that and confirm.
http://baike.baidu.com/item/%E8%8C%A7%E8%9B%B9/15843605?fr=aladdin

Actually that is the chinese i was told and given. I did know they are larvae of some sort of butterfly or moth. The direct translation i got from google didnt specify it was silk worm. Its quite popular in Dalian. You buy them live at many vegetable shops but not fruit or meat shops oddly. Lol

From the same market / stalls selling those fried scorpions or locusts then.

Haha. I wish, i would totally try those. These are the only insects ive seen people eat in Dalian.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54