Horses Just an Arm’s Reach From the Playground. No Missing Fingers yet!

in #china7 years ago

It’s nice to have animals not far from the school, surrounded by trees and hills, quiet and majestic but as always under development.


At least four horses roaming, eating weeds around the campus. They’ve been steadily getting closer and closer, I guess their sweet grazing grounds are getting smaller as the weather gets colder.

I’m not too sure their purpose. It doesn’t seem like they’re getting the TLC that many other horses get. I have not seen anyone riding them or using them as tools either so I do wonder what’s their purpose. Cutting grass? Doubt it here, not much to munch on.

So after lessons a wandered over to their grounds and got as close as they would allow me to. Horses are pretty clever and some say they can recognize voices and dialects. So maybe I should have not tried to whisper to them. Anyways, the last thing I need to be kicked by a horse.

This is a colt, a baby horse. I didn’t try to get close to it. By the time I was on the other side all but one of them had taken off up the hill.

Still surprised and loving it. Though this job’s management lacks western ideals in what I have always considered proper leadership, I will get over it as soon as my crypto bets pay off.

Another interesting day teaching English in the country that's doing a pretty good job taking over the world. Well, their biggest competition is changing into place that's making it easier for them to do so. Or maybe not. lol

Sort:  

Hope it pays well! Long way from home I assume

It pays quite a bit. Probably the best paying job I've ever had in China. I might make as much as teachers in Canada but with 1/4 the cost of living. ^^

Thats pretty awesome... Do you ever get to a metropolitan area?

Oh yea, I live downtown. It takes me almost an hour by taxi to get there in the mornings which sucks but there a bunch of teachers who live here and it is a boarding school as well. Not much to do, IBM has two research centres about 15 min walk up the road and I am guessing Dalian's infamous BTC farm is in this area too. So there are a few shops and some cheap restaurants around them. I couldn't live on campus, I'd lose my mind. lol

Its still pretty awesome. So you speak Chinese well?

My chinese speaking is ok, far from fluent but I get by well enough.

Do they need American workers?

Interesting.... who owns them? Doesn't exactly look like the place for wild horses haha

They're not wild, this part of China has no wildlife. I can only guess some workers or small farm that is being quickly over ridden is in charge of them. They don't belong to the school. in 2004 i saw donkey's pulling buggies of recycled cooking oil on the outskirts of the city Since my return in 2013 I haven't seen horses or donkey's doing such jobs, even back then it was incredibly rare now it's not heard of.

Do you freak them out with technology stories? They sound disconnected.

haha. yea, no... Dalian, China is way more developed than most western cities. in 2004 it wasn't then suddenly it soared right past. I can see why America is scared of China, they are like a republican paradise when it comes to doing business and a democrats dream when it comes to controlling people. weird, eh.

Way weird... thats what you can do with persons respecting each other

Very interesting, horses are one of my favorite animals, they're majestic as hell... Don't be afraid, just hop on and go for a cruise!

To be honest anywhere else i might have. But in China it would probably make the owners quite pissed because, whether i would or not, they'd assume I will sue them if i get hurt and forbid me from doing it. With hundreds of my students steps away I really didn't need them to see me struggling to climb a horse and getting yelled by some rural Chinese guy. lol

However these students on Fridays get to go horseback riding or play golf, they can choose which. Rich kids. ><

tip! 0.2

You are welcome ! I wrote a long comment twice but it didn't send through and the third time it worked but then I only wrote tip hehe

It's not working smoothly these days let's cross the fingers that this message get through

yea man.... my steemit isn't working too smooth either, I've had to click, reclick and reload the page many times just to comment or vote. Thought it was just me.

It seems a lot are having problems these days but with the great firewall of china it doesn't make things better hehe

Great photo my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77