You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: China Is Freer Than You Think

in #china8 years ago (edited)

I live in both places. Though I admit last time I was in China (mainland) was 2006 and never bothered going back.
In my opinion, China doesn't have serious issues because talking about serious issues are either not allowed, or their dissenting voices are silenced. Outside of these restricted issues, then sure you are fairly free to do or say whatever without breaking any laws. But that isn't real freedom, it's just an appearance of freedom.
But I will give credit that China has made tremendous economic progress. As long people are prosperous, I believe the issues can remain suppressed. China's true challenge will come when it faces the next economic slowdown as many of the serious issue may surface. I for one am still waiting to see China make progress in it's political system on the scale as its economic system. That will truly be a great day for the Chinese people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81