You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Book Review: "Rule of Law in China," by Various Uncredited Authors

in #china5 years ago

Hmmm. Very profound @patriamreminisci

”All they say is ‘to improve, we must improve, so we will improve. How? By improving.’”

… as it says nothing, which is your point. Presumably, since I have never read the book, I can safely say that sentence pretty well sums it up. So … My time being valuable, I can obviously get a better ROI investing it elsewhere … 😉

Seriously, justice is a favorite topic of mine, given how essential it is to true liberty. While having never been to China, I have no reason to doubt your characterization of it. Sadly, though, they certainly do not have “the market cornered,” when it comes to corruption of the “Rule of Law.”

From previous exchanges with you, I know you don’t consider our issues here in America to “hold a candle” to those of China. Nonetheless …

We are in trouble and heading in the wrong direction … We’ll find out soon enough whether we have the courage and will to get that properly addressed …

#sbi-skip

Sort:  

You're not wrong when you say America has some issues where justice is concerned, and having been a cop there for six years I can attest to some of some miscarriages of right and wrong where law is concerned. But I maintain that while America does have some corruption in it's justice system, I'm not sure China has any justice in its corruption system.
The difference may be one of scale, but it's huge enough to be night and day. At least America's system functions more often than not. In China the judge rarely even manages to put on a pretense of having any laws to follow, much less following them.

Yes @patriamreminisci ...

"... while America does have some corruption in it's justice system, I'm not sure China has any justice in its corruption system."

... I certainly understand that. You would know far better than I, but I am unaware of any time in China's history where they would've ever lived under a system like ours. As is true in many other countries as well ...

Which makes it all the more sobering, in my mind, that we seem to have so little appreciation of that fact. At least, that is the "big picture" in large and growing portions of our population here. Part of human nature ultimately, not being grateful for what we have. Until we don't have it any more ...

#sbi-skip

Also, the Tom Bingham book I referenced in this article will almost assuredly be of interest to you. It's a bit focused on the UK (as a book by a British legal expert would be), but while the details may not directly pertain to the US, the underlying thesis mostly does.

Okay, very good @patriamreminisci. On your recommendation, when my time is in better shape than it is at the moment, I will definitely look into it. 👍


P.S. Meanwhile, back on this post things are looking a little brighter … 😉

#sbi-skip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56