A visit to the Clinic

in #china7 years ago

Going to the doctor is an entirely different thing in China than in the U.S. I had had a persitant cough for several days - not real bad, except at night. The coughing increased when I lied down, and I just couldn't sleep and cough at the same time. So after several sleepless nights, I paid a visit to our local clinic, which is visible from our bathroom window.

All pictures are my own - click on an image to enlarge
Please note that quoted passages and links use the MarkDown format. Please follow provided links to the quoted information. (Cheetah is getting senile these days)
DSC00557a.jpg

This couple is administering an I.V. drip to their child OUTSIDE the clinic. Infants will often have an I.V. needle inserted in their forehead, while the parents hold the I.V. bag on a stick like you see here. I've even seen children outside playing, while their parents followed them around with the IV on a stick.

Going inside the clinic - the doctor is on the left. You can see how much privacy you have to consult with your doctor. the patients sit in the waiting area, and the pharmacy is right there on the right. That's it!

DSC00558a.jpg

DSC00559a.jpg

This is a picture from a few years back of a clinic which had an overflow from their waiting area to the sidewalk outside. (IV drips are very popular here, rather than injections).
P1050263a.jpg

The medicine I got, administered orally, through a vaporizer.
medicine.jpg
I was GOING to tout the benefits of Chinese medicine, until I got home and was able to decode the label - it is Dextromethorphan hydrobromide oral solution - .
According to Wikipedia Dextromethorphan

Dextromethorphan (DXM or DM) is a drug of the morphinan class with sedative, dissociative, and stimulant properties (at higher doses). It is a cough suppressant in many over-the-counter cold and cough medicines including generic labels and store brands, Benylin DM, Mucinex DM, Camydex-20 tablets, Robitussin, NyQuil, Dimetapp, Vicks, Coricidin, Delsym, TheraFlu, Cheracol D, and others.

see note above about quoted passages - this quote is properly attributed

Whatever happened to codeine-flavored Madame Pearl's F1 cough syrup? It used to be available at ANY local pharmacy. Now they are reluctant to even SELL anything with codeine or even pseudo-ephedrine in it.

Overall, though, I was pleased with the experience. The office was clean, and I was treated reasonably quickly. They seem to do a good job of bringing medicine to the masses.

Next time I'll know where to go, if that cough just won't go away - then again, maybe I'll buy a few bottles of it next time I'm in Hong Kong if they still sell the F1 there.

SteemIt World Map !steemitworldmap 22.6858645 lat 110.2400917 long A visit to the doctor D3SCR
#randyw

alt text

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=randyw
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-visit-to-the-clinic


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Also happens in india

文章怎么添加图片?

I'm getting a post together on that, including the 'click to enlarge' feature - I should be able to post it tomorrow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53