*Enter...CHINA - The Middle Kingdom - PART 2* (A Photo Journey)

in #china7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3340.JPG

What does everyday life look like in China?

Here are some photos to illustrate what a typical day might look like:


1.png


DSCN0480.JPG

Most of my Chinese practice came from taking cabs! They are usually very chatty and curious.

As you can see, the cabs here have metal grating to protect the driver. As for how much it costs, it's rare if it goes over $10 USD unless it's a trip to the airport.


2.png


DSCN0486.JPG

DSCN0487.JPG

Many locals will either use public transit or will have their own bike or scooter. I used to have a scooter in my old city. You can buy a good one for $400 US but I've had friends buy them for as cheap as $80.

A warning though - the traffic here is scary as hell. I bailed once when a van veered into me. Most of my friends who own a scooter have also been in one accident or another.


3.png


DSCN0537.JPG

DSCN0563.JPG

DSCN0483.JPG

China is full of cameras and security guards. It's probably one of the safest countries I've been to. Some of them sit in small booths and their job is essentially to allow cars or people to pass. I live in a gated community that has round the clock security guards.


4.png


DSCN0494.JPG

You'll see many of these small trucks filled with fresh produce so a crispy apple or a juicy peach is never far from grasp.

DSCN0491.JPG

Okay so this isn't really "street eats" but I thought KFC's new burger looked intriguing. That stuff on the top of the bun is "meat floss" - or finely shredded dried meat. KFC is super popular here. You can find them everywhere!!

IMG_5944.JPG

The last picture I'll leave you with is of me (I'm on the right in red) with some expat friends enjoying the local Shao Kao 烧烤. In other words, kebabs or barbecue.

Usually you sit outside on tiny stools, drink beer, and eat lots of meat on sticks. I never find myself feeling too great in the morning but it's worth it for the memories. :D

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eitsky from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Nice post!Always cool to read about China and shao kao rocks🤘

Thanks Damira, I appreciate it. :)

This post has received a 13.02 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @eitsky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43