A Necessary Unpleasantness

in #children5 years ago


I've spent a great deal of time at hospitals, and I really have to tell you that I don't enjoy that time at all. Over the years, I have actually come to hate hospitals, and the doctors office is a close second. This dislike for hospitals and doctors offices started shortly after my wife and I were first married.

I had many relatives I had to visit in the hospital, my dad, two of my uncles, my grandmother, my great grandmother, and of course, my wife, and many more... Of all of them, my wife was the only one who wasn't terminal. Thank goodness for that.

My wife, over these past 40 years has had many hospital and doctors visits. Shes had many operations, some helped, some didn't make much difference. The thing about all these surgeries/operations, me being the loving husband, I always accompanied her. Many boring hours I spent in the hospital. Usually a person who has a serious enough operation spends most of their time drugged up enough to take a trip and not have left the room/bed. Also, they spend a lot of that time recovering, asleep!

For anyone visiting them, it becomes a very boring occasion, even if they do manage to stay awake when visitors show up, many times they are not feeling like having company, and yet at the same time are kind of glad someone cared enough to show up.

So over the years, my wife knowing how I feel about the hospital, expects me to at least show up, but also knows that I am hoping she doesn't expect me to make it a long visit. I know it sounds uncaring, but in reality I do care, and if I stay for very long, I become agitated and even cranky. So caring as I do, I don't want to upset her... Igo, but for short visits.

So now I will tell you all what led to me writing this post, my granddaughter was admitted to the hospital this morning. She is 4 months pregnant at the moment. She has been having severe abdominal pain for the last two days, so she didn't want to jeopardize the baby, and went to the hospital.

After a few tests, it was determined that one of her kidneys isn't functioning properly, there is some kind of blockage. It may be do the babys positioning, or it could be something else. There are more tests scheduled for tomorrow.

Now I love this child, and am heartbroken she is going through this, especially when she should be happy and getting ready to welcome her new boy, yup, she is having a boy! The problem is whether I am going to go to the hospital. I've made a list of excuses in my head, and when I go over them, not one dayum one is what I'd call a good excuse. So, tomorrow, after she has had her tests, my wife and I will be off to the hospital, for a visit... oh, the T shirt above is available here: PATIENCE!



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://skiponlinenow.com/a-necessary-unpleasantness/
Sort:  

Hi, @skiponline!

You just got a 0.25% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @skiponline! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Oh dear. Obstructed kidneys have all the pain of kidney stones.

yes, she had a great deal of pain, she is home now, they prescribed some medication for the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86