You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do we protect children on Steemit?

in #children7 years ago (edited)

I'm sorry, I can be rough around the edges. It did come off as a bit harsh. I just believe that ultimately it's the parents' responsibility to monitor the activity of their children on the internet, and be technically literate enough to ensure their safety and control what content they're exposed to. You seem to do that. You are in the minority, unfortunately (based on the quality of the comments posted on the general internet, it seems to be a lot of children... Or really stupid adults. I can't tell.)

There are no parental controls on steemit, but you have already granted your children steemit accounts. Why have you not waited until such a feature is implemented before giving them access to such a community? There are plenty of forums for your children to interact with others that are not the wild-west.

I do hope the platform eventually includes parental controls, but even with them, your children will see things and read things that you do not want them to, and interact with people you would rather them not.

Statistically, 1% or more of humans are psychopaths. That "kid" they're talking to in some kid-friendly part of the internet might not be a kid. There's no way to keep them completely safe, but that has always been the nature of life. Thanks for being a responsible parent.

Sort:  

Thank you for replying, I apologize for not getting back to you sooner. My kids just finished the school year so we got all caught up in kindergarten graduation and everything else.

I completely agree that it is our responsibility to monitor our children's activities online. My husband was really the one who helped our kids sign up and so I was checking to see if I had missed anything that may help us keep our kids safe. There isn't, so now that I know, I'll be even more vigilant.

Thanks for your kind words, I do try to be responsible.

Hope you and yours are happy and healthy.

b.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69