Spanking a child is a Last Resort

in #children7 years ago

While, I do not agree with the ban of spanking – it should only be used as a last resort. America is an obvious example of why more discipline should be introduced to children. My friend’s friend, a young woman in her early 20’s, spoke to me once about how her mother was almost afraid to discipline her when she was a child. “If she dared hit me, I would punch her.” When she spoke to her parents on the phone, it was in a belligerent and sullen tone.

In Asia, speaking to one’s parents with disrespect is almost tantamount to a capital offence. Elders are revered and parents do not coddle their children. Limits and boundaries must be given to children, for it is essential to their growth as responsible adults in the future. Nevertheless, we must not be tyrants with our offspring. Violence should only be a last resort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42