Songs from your childhood that wont go away (and you don't want them to)

in #childhood3 years ago

I suppose you could say that as a child Sesame Street was kind of forced upon me, not that we really had much choice since back in those days we only had a maximum of 12 channels and most of them didn't work. Yeah, it's hard to imagine not being able to stream just anything you wanted anytime you wanted but there was a time when we were at the mercy of what TV stations wanted to show us and we had to be there at that time in order to see it.

There was PBS (Public Broadcasting Station) that was the only channel with no commercials and this was a favorite of parents and kids back in the day. After school we would get a snack and park our little butts in front of the television for some Sesame Street and while I wouldn't say we were required to watch this, we kind of looked forward to it. I would imagine that my mother appreciated the fact that it kept her 3 kids quiet for a little while as well.


image.png
src

Despite the above picture, a lot of those guys didn't exist back then including what seems to be the all time favorite, Elmo. What did exist during the show was some songs that were played that I guess I heard them so many times that here we are more than 20 years later and I still every now and then find myself with the songs stuck in my head.

They were pretty catchy and they were meant to help kids learn, I guess.

This was one of the best ones and to this day I sometimes find myself running around the house singing along to it and sometimes when the moon aligns just right the stars, I will encounter someone that also knows this song. Many years ago I was in a pub in San Diego and the house band was playing this song live and I looked around and saw tons of other people that were jamming out to it as well. We were all young at one point in our lives and if you grew up when I did, you were probably subjected to Sesame Street.

I wonder if it was an honor to the people that made this song that they are immortalized with an educational jingle that just about anyone aged 30-50 knows right now.

This one might be a little more obscure but it is one that sticks in my head as well. It is a song about a girl going to the dentist with her lama. I don't know why I remember these things, maybe they reused the same songs in many different episodes or maybe, just like kids today watching the same Pixar movie over and over I was enthusiastic about the "my lama and me" song coming on. We didn't have this stuff on DVD, we just had to wait until it came on again and try to remember the words if we could. It's not like we could Google the lyrics.

This last one isn't a song but it was something that was on Sesame Street to perhaps reach out to the Hispanic audience or maybe teach some American kids a bit of Spanish. You can tell from the video that the word means dangerous and it was one of the first words in Spanish that I ever knew because of it.

They really had a good way of doing things on Sesame Street and I don't know what that show is like today, but I am hopeful that it has some sort of positive impact on kids' lives. I like to think that it had a positive impact on mine and that is why I remember and sing along to these songs even to this day, all these years later.

Were you a fan of Sesame Street or the Muppets as a kid? If so, let's talk about it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87