We need to protect the children.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #childabuse7 years ago

Several years ago while I was still in practice I had the difficult task of taking care of a pregnant 9 year old child. She was a victim of sexual abuse from a family member. The interaction with the child's mother further complicated the situation because of her lack of empathy regarding her daughters situation. Her concerns were more about the police investigation and the turmoil that would soon follow. There would be a paternity test with the birth of the baby and that information would provide the authorities a direction in which to take. She did not seem to be angry that her daughter was a victim of pedophilia. She had blinders on and was in a state of denial like I had never seen before. Meanwhile the innocent child had a look of total emptiness that was hard to miss.

The whole situation seemed surreal at the time and I could not understand why there were no family members stepping up and screaming out for justice for the child. Perhaps they were afraid for their own safety. In my opinion there is no excuse for saying and doing nothing when the truth is staring you right in the face.

You may wonder what brought this part of my past back into the present provoking me to write about it.

This morning Truthstream Media shared a video and what I saw caused the memory of that sad 9 year old flooding back into my mind. The look of the eyes, the voice, and the hollow demeanor were there staring right back at me as if the person in the video was my pregnant 9 year old patient.

Sad, calm Feldman telling Barbara Walters, “I’m saying . . . the people that did this to both me and Corey, that are still working, they’re still out there and they’re some of the richest, most powerful people in this business. And they do not want me saying what I’m saying right now.”

Walters fairly clutches her pearls. “Are you saying that they’re pedophiles?” she asks.

“Yes,” Feldman says. As he went on to warn parents of hopeful children, Walters chastised him.

“You’re damaging an entire industry!” she said.

Not being a Hollywood buff I could not say who Corey Feldman was, but I feel that I can say that he is a victim of sexual abuse. There could not be any gain on his part sharing the embarrassment and pain he suffered as a child. Yet he has been criticized, and insulted by many for speaking out. There is no "#" movement to protect the children in the entertainment industry.

But, I find it curious that today so many are speaking out and supporting the victims of the abuse perpetrated by Harvey Weinstein. Women who have been sexually harassed or assaulted to write two words on Twitter: “#Me too.” In fact, there is now a nationwide #METOO campaign to support and bring awareness to this issue.

Why are these abuse situations different? In my opinion child abuse is much more horrific. Instead people protect the abusers, just like Barbara Walters and the family of my pregnant 9 year old patient. Will people now believe Corey Feldman about Hollywood abusers?


When will people stop supporting an industry that preys on children?

As my thoughts turn back to my young patient I can't help but wonder where she is today and how her life has been. She did not deserve what had happened to her. She should have had her family stand up and fight for her, not just those of us in the medical profession.

Sort:  

My uncle wife did even worse to me, I tried talking to my uncle but he didn't do anything rather it got worse I couldn't tell my mom but after 3years I surmon courage and told my aunt who took me away with her and the rest wasn't easy or Rosy but I was never abused again. It's bad and hard for some kids out there, one day I will share my story here I've been hiding it and scared ashamed to spoke

I am so sorry that happened to you and I am happy you were able to break free from your abuser. Please continue to work towards healing and I hope you will be able to share your story someday, so those who are still hiding what has happened to them will get the help they need. Take care and blessings to you and yours.

Keep it up brilliant!

child abuse is really bad...
So painful

If the Feldman dude was really afraid for his life and family he'd spit out the six names he keeps rambling about so that we at least have suspects if anything happens to him. How long can it take to say 6 names?

You don't need to make a movie to name people, you don't need money for that. Maybe if he finally speaks others will become brave too and follow his example.

I believe that years of abuse and fear can effect decision making so I am not able to judge.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

@marymg2014 Thanks for sharing "Red Flags of Predators"....this is a must know for all Parents, GrandParents, and everyone working and assisting Minors.

You have put this article together very well @marymg2014 This is such a horrific problem and is good to see others getting the word out. The general public as a whole do not realize how wide spread this is let alone the long term effects.

Pleased to meet you. I see this platform as a way of working together with the many like minded people I am finding here on Steemit working toward a more fully informed public.

I am a new minnow so am out of voting power and see this post is 7 days old and can't resteem it. Would love to have this resteemed on my blog. (is there anyway that can be done?)

Thanks for reading and believing in the message

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79