Polka and Dot - Sister Wives - Chickens. Intro - Part 1

in #chickens8 years ago (edited)

Polka and Dot are Silver Spangled Hamburgs.  It is a big name for a fairly small chicken.  They are beautiful chickens.  They lean towards the wilder types of chickens and forage for food, and retain the ability for flight.

I got them as chicks along with a rooster, Fancy.  I raised them together so they would bond.



Each summer several times a year Polka and Dot, sneak off to lay eggs in the brush or other places.  They return to the same nest day after day, to lay an egg.  Once they are satisfied with their stash of eggs, they will return and sit on the nest for about 21 days.  When the chicks start to hatch.  Over the last few summers Polka and Dot have added Quality Content to my backyard.  (made a SteemIt joke there)  In actuality they have produced over 100 chicks.  


Once the chicks hatch the Hens keep them warm, teach them how to eat and drink, and eat the bugs out of my backyard.  Whenever they are not brooding or raising chicks they lay eggs.  I just keep food and water in the backyard and they do the rest.

Starting from this post, we will be following Polka and Dot and the current batch of chicks they are raising.  

From a prepper point of view sustainable food, is a huge benefit.  Chickens can provide both eggs and meat, as well has fertilizer, bug reduction, and quality of life benefits.  

Let me know if you are interested in more information on raising backyard chickens with your vote.

Sort:  

@whatsup Cool! I love your chickens. Been following you for a while now. I'll watch my feed for your story. Upvoted.
I think you saw my post of my 30 hens working on my swale garden beds. They work all day under the apple trees and clean up the veggie beds. Hard workers.

Look, i think you'll ike it;
https://steemit.com/gardening/@luzcypher/chickens-weeding-swale-garden-beds-for-free

I loved it! Chicken Steemers Unite! Oh boy, that might be too much of a niche.

Lol. Children Steemers, sounds delicious

I love chickens. We had several layers before we left the states. I am hoping that we get chickens again soon.

I hope so too. They are really a fun hobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76