Hatching Eggs With an Incubator

in #chickens8 years ago (edited)

A couple of years ago we decided to "down-size" our life-style.  The kids were grown, I was burnt out on the Corporate Job.  So, we bought a smaller house, a bigger piece of land and a bigger chicken coop.   We decided to create more of our own food.  Chickens provide eggs, income and healthy home-grown meat.

When I want to hatch eggs and my hens are not cooperating by setting on eggs, I incubate eggs to hatch chicks.  It is a pretty interesting process.  

First I decide which eggs to hatch and I put them into the incubator.  The normal incubation cycle for chicken eggs is 21 days.  

*photos by @whatsup

For the first 18 days, the eggs sit in the incubator where the egg turner gently tips them from side to side, to prevent the growing chick from sticking to the side of the eggs.    I monitor the eggs and the temperature in the incubator.  

By a process called "candling" you can shine a bright light on the eggs to check and see if the chicks are developing inside the egg.


*picture from http://incubatorwarehouse.com/egg-candling

On day 18, the eggs are candled and those with proper development are moved into the hatcher.


The hatcher provides a constant temperature and a high level of humidity the eggs require to hatch.
Between day 18-21, the chicks begin to work their way out of the shell.  They start by creating a small hole in the egg with their beak.  Once the hole is created the chicks turn inside the egg in a process called "zipping", They slowly cut the shell using their beak to saw through the egg and hatch.

Chicks emerge from their shells tiny, wet and tired.  They can often look a little wimpy when they first come out.



Chicks freshly hatched

Brand new freshly hatched chick.

Once the chicks are out of the shell they require only food, water and heat to survive.  Their instincts take over from there.  After a couple of hours the chicks have dried off, fluffed up and are looking for food and water.

I hatch a few hundred chicks per year.  They are raised to sell or add to my flock.

Regardless if you have chickens are not, the process of incubating and hatching eggs is interesting, and heck everyone loves pictures of chicks.  (okay, not like kittens, but close)

@whatsup



Sort:  

@whatsup, what a cool way to spend your time. Chicks are adorable.

Thanks! We are still hanging in here. :)

This is about next on our to do list.

We will see if the hens will help first, but then try an incubator if need be.

I had forgotten all about candling.

Thanks for the post!

You are welcome. Candling is a lot of fun, especially to watch a child's excitement when you happen to catch a glimpse of the perfect chick foot! :)

I can imagine that feeling and how seeing that expression on a child's face would look.

Thanks again!

I have had good luck incubating chicken and turkey eggs, wonderful article.

My Steem Sister Reddust. I have got to get busy on some other projects, but I will be checking in. :) Take care.

It's fall time for tucking in the farm for its winter slumber ;-)

I'd love to do this as a project with my young kids. Any advice for casual, home based options without buying up expensive equipment?

You can pick up a pretty cheap incubator on Amazon or elsewhere online. Check your local craigslist for used models.

Once you have an incubator picked out, make sure you have a place to keep the chicks warm. (heatlamp and a cardboard box works! ;)

Good luck with the project, my Grandkids love hatching eggs with me.

That's so cool you did this. We had two chicks arrive today and I still don't know where her nest is. I've always wanted to hatch our own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63