Easter Eggs - Colored by my Chickens.

in #chickens7 years ago

When I first got involved in chickens I wanted eggs, while searching for the various breeds of chickens I found that by using genetics you can breed different breeds together to achieve various colors of eggs.  After learning this, I wanted eggs of many colors.  Including green.


*Olive Eggs


When I decided to focus on Olive Eggs I decided to go about it using Cream Legbars crossed with Black Copper Marans.

*Sunny, my Cream Legbar Rooster


To create the olive eggs I bought Cream Legbar Hatching Eggs from a friend and incubated the eggs.  The picture above is one of my favorite CLB roosters.  He has long since retired, but I will always have a soft spot for Sunny.  


The process in creating Olive Eggers is to breed a chicken with the genes for blue eggs to a chicken with the genes for dark brown eggs.  Sunny holds the blue egg gene.

*In this picture you can see the dark brown eggs, and the blue eggs.  When the two genes are held in the same chicken, the result is the green eggs.  One will get varied results based on the "shades" of the colors ymixed.

Having obtained the blue egg genes, I now need to add the dark brown egg genes.  

The two ladies on the right are Black Copper Marans hens.  They lay the dark brown eggs.  The gal with the color on her neck is named Source, because she was the source of the dark brown egg genes in my breeding program.


I purchased those hens from friend when they were about a week old.  Once Sunny and Source reached adulthood they were kept in a breeding run together.  

I incubated the fertile dark brown eggs for 21 days before they hatched.   Chicks like all other animals are a bit messy right after they hatch.


*freshly hatched "Olive Eggers, hatched from Source's eggs and fertilized by Sunny.


At this point it was time to wait for Sunny and Source's chick to grow old enough to lay eggs.  Here are some pictures of her along the way.

Hunter is the product of Sunny and Source, pictured above as a pullet and below when she reached maturity.  


HUNTER - The Olive Egg Laying Hen.

Hunter is the result of the cross between Sunny and Source.   She lays beautiful olive colored eggs.  Mission accomplished.

A picture to show the contrast of the colors.  Taken on my counter.


The process of getting olive eggs took 2 years from obtaining the breeding stock, Sunny and Source.  The next step was allowing them both to mature and become ready to breed.  Once I hatched their offspring, I had to wait again for the resulting chick, "Hunter" to reach laying age.  (Around 6 months) Hunter will now be breed back to a Black Copper Marans Rooster to create a darker color in the next generation.  Actually this already happening and I am waiting for Hunter's daughters to begin laying this summer!

Breeding chickens is a fun hobby, as chicken genetics and understanding how their genes work and which are dominate is a pretty interesting hobby.  I consider it a daily science project.

Sort:  


Hi @whatsup, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Beautiful chicken and eggs!

Thank you lakshmi. It is a fun hobby.

Very, very cool! I love the variety that is possible too!

The little peppers would likely love this experiment. :)

Here are my helpers enjoying the results!

Very nice. I'll have 5 helpers soon!

I love that you have chickens.

I cannot remember -- have we discussed offgrid/bushcrafty stuff before on here?

I don't think we have! We should though. ;)

That's awesome. The only time I eat the yolk is when it's a nice warm egg from the coop. I will have to try that next time I raise chickens.

Yes, Farm fresh eggs have smooth creamy yolks

Nice post @whatsup! I've been toying with the idea of raising a few chickens, but I'm not yet fully on board.

Are these variations solely in the coloring of the shell, or does it also affect other aspects of the eggs (e.g. size, taste, texture, etc)?

It can impact the size of the egg. Most people agree only diet can impact the taste of the eggs or the meat of a chicken.

If you haven't tried farm fresh eggs, try them. The entire egg tastes and looks different in free range, farm raised chickens. ;)

I can't wait to have my own chickens! I never thought about the shell colors but I love the variety of color and I'm sure they're all just as delicious. I miss farm-fresh eggs. It does wonders for baking - I'm convinced of this.

They are good for your spirit and soul.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28