Impacted Crop, Sour Crop and Making a Crop Bra. Also Introducing Precious the Chicken.

in #chickens6 years ago (edited)
Precious is a gold laced barnevelder incubator hatched in January 2016. Of all the barnevelders we hatched that day, she was lighter coloured and stood out. My eldest daughter took a shine to her and would often sneak off with her. She trained her to come to her for food by clapping and calling her name. To this day she will still come running if you clap and call her.

Precious has always been fond of her food, so it wasn't unusual to see her with a bulging crop. In fact it got to a point where she would come running up to us with it swinging pendulously. At first I thought it was amusing, but then I saw a video of another hen with a swinging crop and the owner was asking what was wrong. It turned out to be a complication known as pendulous crop and wasn't a good sign.

IMG_20180623_123255.jpg
Precious with her pendulous crop on display.

What Is Impacted, Sour or Pendulous Crop?

For those who don't know, many birds have crops. This is a pouch in front of their chest where food gets stored and softened before traveling on to their stomach. If too much food sits in there it can get compacted together causing an impacted crop and the bird struggles to move it on. An impacted crop can be sorted out if caught early by gentle massaging in order to break it up. It will feel like a hard clump or dough ball.

There are a variety of reasons why a chicken might get an impacted crop. Cramming to much in is one, as is a slow digestive system which backs up when they become over zealous with food. It can also come from a blockage of tangled fibre from long grasses or other long fibrous plants. This is why it's not recommended to let chickens run on long grass.

If food sits too long in the crop then they can get a fungal overgrowth like Candida which causes sour crop. A sour crop is usually expanded, feels mushy and sometimes bubbly. If you massage it quite often some of the air comes back out at it smells something like diarrhoea crossed with vomit. It's quite unpleasant!

Pendulous crop occurs when the crop has been impacted for so long that the crop muscles have been over-stretched. The chicken then struggles to tighten up the crop enough to move the food on to the stomach meaning that food ends up sitting at the bottom of the crop going bad, the chicken keeps cramming more food in because it's hungry and if left untreated it will die.

precious.jpg

Treating Crop Problems

When I first realised what was wrong with Precious she was mostly still impacted. The initial treatment for both impacted and sour is the same. Withhold solid foods until the crop is emptied and gently massage to break it up and help move it on.

Reading up, most people recommended isolating the chicken with just water, but when I did this Precious started eating any bedding or newspaper I put down. So I kept her with the flock, which she was happier with anyway, because they are social animals. I removed her and put her on concrete when feeding the rest flock to stop her cramming any more in and massaged her crop about three times a day. Lifting it and pressing it into the hollow where the collar bone is seemed to be the most effective.

It took a few days, but the food did start moving through. Unfortunately, because her crop was so stretched it only moved through when I was massaging and just sat when I wasn't. Once it was clear and she was back to feeding with the flock, it went back to square one and this time she'd developed sour crop. As soon as I had a couple of busy days where I couldn't massage, her crop ballooned up with mush and foul smelling air and I had a very sick chicken on my hands.

My only option was to manually empty her crop, which wasn't something I wanted to do as there is a risk with this of them inhaling some of the contents. After a lot of research I eventually found a method that I felt offered the best advice. Tucking her firmly under one arm I tilted her forward so that her beak was pointing towards the ground and then firmly, but gently squeezed the crop until what was in it started to come back up. I did this for no more than 3 seconds then righted her. Judging by the smell of what came out it was certainly better out than in! I guess you could think of it like when we vomit (I know, ewwww!); it's never for more than a few seconds giving us pause to breathe before the next wave comes. If we carried on for longer then we would probably try to breathe and risk inhaling it. So it makes sense to give the chicken that same breathing break.

With Precious I did three lots of regurgitation, probably half emptying her crop, before she refused to keep her head pointing down and I took that as being enough. In the meantime I'd been working on making a crop bra to help support her crop. With the crop bra holding her crop up between massages recovery was much quicker this time.

IMG_20180623_123357.jpg
Precious sporting her crop bra and looking more like a normal chicken should.

With sour crop, I needed to treat the fungal infection too. The recommended approach is to balance out the crop with good bacteria, so I took a multi pronged approach. I added apple cider vinegar to the flock's water and once her crop was empty I'd give Precious a separate feed with yoghurt, garlic and coconut oil. Garlic and coconut oil are supposed to be anti fungal and the yoghurt has the probiotic bacteria. Milk isn't something chickens have evolved to digest, so the yoghurt probably won't help gut flora, but my hope was that it might still have an affect in her crop.

Precious has to wear her crop bra permanently now, but it doesn't affect her quality of life. She even dustbathes in it so I have to empty it out occasionally. I can't rely entirely on the crop bra and still occasionally have to help move things on.

Making the Crop Bra.

Front of the crop bra.
Back of crop bra showing cross over elastics.

Making the crop bra was trial and error. I tried it first with just a piece of fabric cut into a trapezium shape and connected the two cross over elastic straps. Unfortunately, this just slid off Precious' bulging crop. So I elasticated around the edges of the fabric to get it more cup shaped and it stayed in place better like that. The straps were a bit too long first try, but I got a good fit second try.

IMG_20180623_123426.jpg
Showing the cross over elastic straps from the top.

The fabric goes over the crop at the front. The elastics reach over each shoulder, tuck behind the wing and back between the legs. I find it easiest to pop her head through the straps first, then tuck each wing in and pop each leg through.

~○♤○~


You can also find The Miniature Smallholding on:

Instagram
Facebook


Join us at the Online Homesteading Community

IMG_20180111_135541.jpg

Sort:  

I sort of found that rather fascinating. I didn't know chickens could puke. Wow. Ya learn something every day if you want to I guess.

Thankfully puking is not a common occurrence! 😆

Right, I get the concern with crop now, and also the reference to Precious 'eating newspaper again', which had puzzled me a little when I read it on your other post :D

Love the image of Precious coming when clapping and calling her name. Love the DIY bra solution. You really have to be Florence Nightingale / Mother Teresa to them huh?

The amount of dedication you put into homesteading though...extraordinary

That is a beautiful bird! Very creative with that bra.


Global Homestead Collective

Come join us on discord! https://discord.gg/KCYH4JX

Thank you and hi! Lovely to see more effort to promote the homesteading front.

Yes! The homesteading community is growing..it is just spread way out. We hope to bring it together.

Wow i didn't know homesteading is a lifestyle in itself. I googled this btw haha.
Precious must be so great to deserve you.
So do you have the video where she comes running after clapping and calling her? Would love to see that sometimes.

I've never actually thought to film it, but my daughters might have. I'll have to ask them.

such an interesting post <3 you show great tenderness and care in this <3 i wish Precious all the best :>

Thank you. She's well at the moment after a small relapse. I think she may relapse from time to time, but hopefully will live a long life still.

Hi minismallholding,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

If I were a chicken I’d want to be a part of your chicken family. Wow so much care involved here, I had no idea about crops, that must have been tough but it’s so good to see precious looking healthy and fashionable!

I'm a bit mad that I didn't spot the problem sooner, but we live and learn. Just glad she's still with us.

I definitely did learn something. My old man has a very friendly chicken, so some this would come in handy. Great post.

wow... great reading
haha crop bra!! 😂

Sometimes chickens need support too. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99