Meet The Flockers!

in #chickens6 years ago (edited)

Incorporating & Breeding Chickens On Our Homestead Is One Of The Greatest Things We've Ever Done

Talk about hours and hours of entertainment, for us and especially our children. We don't have the biggest backyard, and don't have many close neighbours, or parks, but our flock keeps the kids amused daily. Every day there is chicken catching, playing and of course the chores keep us all busy too. The kids often have to herd the flock, someone will be the driver, and someone will steer them, another will be ready at the gate to let them in when we're trying to get them in.

IMG_0791.JPG

Kiedis and one of his gals, "Snowflake". We have so much fun naming them and watching them grow. Also because we have the Easter Egger variety, it's always fun to see what colour of egg they will end up laying.

IMG_0795.JPG

IMG_0746.JPG

Everywhere we look there's always some Flockers around. They follow us around the yard always gossiping about what we are doing, and especially hoping for a treat. Some people call this Chicken TV, just chilling out and watching chickens be chickens. And I think they watch Human TV.

IMG_0781.JPG

Big Mama and her little one "Buddy" (just named in our pick that chick contest by @budman) clearly gossiping about us! Just CRAINING to hear more clearly...

IMG_0782.JPG

IMG_0749.JPG

Peter Parker (AKA Spiderman, named by @karencarrens) judging me, as always...

IMG_0770.JPG

Our family favourite, Wingboots, she lets anyone pick her up, she's so sweet, and just look at the smile on @eddiebowes' face...I'm telling ya, get some chickens if you have kids and you will not be sorry.

IMG_0754.JPG

The Punisher, named by @cognoscere, pecking the ground instead of her usual source of food, @hendrix22's head! AHHAHAA She loves to bite him when she's on her roost, he must taste some good.

IMG_0799.JPG

@PhoenixWren's GodChicken "Ozzy" off to find a bat for lunch...

IMG_0772.JPG

One of the hardest chicks to catch, John Cena named by @joordanzzz, you can see he's not impressed with being held and coddled...

And The Best Part Of Keeping Chickens...

Photo on 2017-10-28 at 11.53 AM.jpg

EGGS!! They feed my children every day, as well as make a wonderful bartering/trading tool. Practically everyone uses eggs, and now with our flock growing so much we can make a lot of trades! Just yesterday @marionbowes came over with 12 muffins and a beautiful banana/cranberry/almond loaf she made, and traded for 2 dozen eggs. Last week my friend Carol crocheted me an egg holding apron and I traded her eggs for it. I've even traded for medicinal herbs!

IMG_0737.JPG

IMG_0740.JPG

Last Note: They Make Great Dance Partners Too!

IMG_0777.JPG

So get yourself some flockers and have a clucking good time!

Sort:  

I've loved seeing these recent posts about the flock and the title of this one was epic! I think I mentioned to you before, but I used to have chickens and actually the neighbors at my parents house still do. I got mine when I was offered to take 1 of the chick's we raised in 3rd grade, home after we were done the project. That was a very cool experience which resulted in a few more chickens over the years. So, this is bringing back many memories. Seeing how much fun your children are having with them makes me consider getting some again with my son. Keep posting about this, I love seeing it!

Awww, that's great that I could bring back some more childhood memories and that you are considering keeping a few chickens again @sixersfeds! I'm excited for you and your son :) :) :)

Chickens are endless amusement, my baby rooster started to crow today! Its the cutest sound ever. I watch chicken TV a lot lol, and I bet they are amused by us. When they are hungry in the morning waiting for their food they like to swarm me >.< pretty amusing, and children have the most fun collecting eggs too

Congrats on your little fella crowing :) What kind of birds do you have?

Bartering is awesome, I wish there were more of it. I'm part of a centralized barter network, but it's just not the same... It's genetically modified bartering :(

And now I'm picturing a chicken eating a live bat!

Hmmm what's this network? Have I heard of it?

It's called Itex... So I'd get Itex 'dollars' for doing graphics work and then I could go to different businesses that accept Itex and apply my earnings to their products or services. Great idea, but it's centralized and regulated. I'd love a discreet crypto version :D

:) :) :) That day is almost here!!

You had me a flockers, the wonderful trade just made it even better.

Glad I could make you smile :)

I can't wait until our flockers arrive. Fresh eggs, meat and entertainment! Can't beat that.

That's awesome Ceci, when are they coming?

I need to wait until the rainy season is over and I can finish my coop. I hope by the first of December but our weather has been crazy this year.

I still can't wait to have my own chickens one day, seeing all your chicken posts keeps me motivated, also I never knew they could lay different colored eggs like that, how pretty :)

Aww, I cannot wait to see you with your little flock, I bet you will turn them into video stars!

When you said Easter eggs chickens I thought there was no way that their eggs came out colored... but they do! That's so cool. Love that you can trade eggs for other goods and services.

They are just brilliant hey? Really puts meaning to "Green Eggs and Ham"! Also, sometimes if I let the hens out too early they will go lay eggs in the forest, and the kids and I have to go on literal Easter Egg hunts. :) :) :)

That is the cutest thing I have ever heard!

I'm also home to keep the chicken, and your chicken is very unique @lyndsaybowes, because it seems more tame and fun can play with chicken..

Yes, if you spend time with them, and always have some treats in your pockets, chickens can become very very tame.

Okay..i will try it...

It's brilliant that you can barter with your produce. You'll be set in a grid down event babe. 😉

:) I don't know about 'set', however, that is the goal, and we are certainly on our way, one baby step at a time! <3 <3

I love having Peter Parker as my godchicken!

:) And he/she loves you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76