Clipping a Chicken's Wings

in #chickens7 years ago (edited)

Are you thinking you should have named your chicken Houdini? It's no fun to find out your chicken flew the coup (literally). If you're lucky, he's roosting nearby and easy to catch. If you are unlucky, he is coyote bait. If he's a she, you'll have less eggs tomorrow if you don't get her before the predator does.

Per the request of @bchick, this is a quick post to demonstrate how to clip a chicken's wings. I clipped the wings of all of our hens a few months ago, and none of them flew over the pallet fence surrounding their chicken yard. The roosters were left alone and never left their ladies for more than a few minutes. They were sort of cool looking perched on the fence anyway. Tonight I used one of the roosters, named Carl, for the demonstration.

The Hunt
Ok, it isn't really a hunt if you know where they are. It was after dark when I saw the request, so I just went to the coop where they were roosting. This sure was easier than when I chased 10 hens down in the afternoon!

roost.jpg
No, the one on the left isn't a massive chicken. That's our turkey named Tom. His wings are clipped as well.

First I grabbed Carl and held his body with his wings trapped down so he couldn't flap them. I tucked his head under my arm and he remained completely calm.

Next I fanned his wing out. You can see my finger pointing to the line of feathers where the secondary feathers overlap the primary flight feathers.

line.jpg

You want to cut along this line, removing the visible part of those primary flight feathers. Regular scissors work fine. (I was sure to ask @clickinchicken which scissors she preferred me to use. She is a sewing woman. Scissors are to a sewing woman what a tool is to a man. Use the right one for the job. And sewing scissors aren't the right ones!)

cut1.jpg

cut2.jpg

After cutting the primary flight feathers, switch sides and repeat the process. It's that easy!

switch.jpg

You may prefer to use two people, especially the first time. If the chicken is excited it can get a little hectic.

@bchic, I hope this helps! Everyone have a good and safe weekend!!

Sort:  

My flock is locked up like fort knox but I like a chicken tek article!

nice .. friend I m also new here follow me so i can follow you back

Thanks for the tutorial. I haven't had to do this yet, but I'm sure I will have to someday.

It definitely eliminates some frustration. Nothing like chasing chickens to work up a good sweat!

Thanks so much! We will do this together but with the new solar fencing I will feel better about letting Lee go outside.
Glad to see that it didn't hurt.

Glad to be of assistance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46