You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Range Chickens: Some Ups and Downs.

in #chickens7 years ago

Very good write-up. I had a unknown dog dig into my chicken coup and try it's best to kill my birds. Luckily all 21 chickens escaped up into the bamboo roost. I ran out hollering at the dog and it came running out at me. Long story short the dog was dispatched.

BTW death is part of homesteading and if some snowflake can't handle that then they shouldn't be reading these type of posts. Pictures just help tell the story.

Sort:  

Thanks.

Because my 7 year old grandson named these chicks Lee, Brightly, and Victoria, and was with me to write this third Chick Story we had to consider that some children might be reading it or looking at the pictures while having it read to them...

Universal audience. appeals to those considering free range but told as a story.

I was so innocent with the first batch of chickens...

Lol our innocence carried through to the second batch. Our first group is still going strong with zero loses. The second group, our meat chickens, had 22 out of 30 killed in two nights. We still don't know what did it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48