You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicken butchering

in #chickens7 years ago

I got chickens for the first time a year ago and mail ordered 50 chicks. They were an assortment of multipurpose birds. About half of them were roosters. I butchered most of the roosters and they all seemed to be good sized. Not sure of the exact weight. I kept them all as whole chickens. For me at least it is easier to have them whole. Our family likes to cook them in the oven as a roast. We also boil them in water and get some awesome bone broth as a bonus.

Sort:  

I cut the meat off the bone because I was trying to save freezer space for the small amount of meat. These birds are rated poor for meat but we're given to me, didn't mix with my hens, and the crowing was waking my kids up at 4 am so something needed to be done. Didn't want to just throw the animals and waste them so I used them for practice for when I butcher the Cornish chickens I'm raising for meat and as small the amount of meat I got it will still be food for us to eat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51