You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Free Range Chickens: Some Ups and Downs.

in #chickens7 years ago

It is indeed an adventure. Lee is teaching me just how to behave.

Owls! We do have owls in the woods surrounding the open part we use for the gardens and orchards. I did not know they were predators. This is a small owl, at least the one we have seen.

I have expanded her run with a little door cut out in the fence to include one part of the garden so she is a little more content. If we get more (when we get more) we are considering a solar powered fence so she has more room. It is way too hilly for a chicken tractor up here.

How did a dog get into the coop?

Sort:  

My chicken coop was basically half of a shed that I built so that I would have room for 25 chickens at a time. I would leave the door open during the day so the chickens could roam around the barnyard. They liked digging around in the horse poop, looking for bugs. It was the middle of the day, the dog just went in through the open door. I heard the chickens squalking and grabbed the shotgun on the way out to investigate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68