You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chicken Keeping Basics; for Beginners

in #chickens7 years ago

Very good post! I have been doing lots of research before getting chickens on our homestead and from that research, I agree with what you have written. I have one thing to add that will be a help, adding DE to the dust bath will be helpful for getting rid of the mites and lice and also adding a little to their food for ingesting will also be beneficial in helping also. Upvoted and Resteemed!

Sort:  

Thank you. I tried to stick to the very basics with this post so as not to overwhelm. There is so much to learn about chickens and I don't think it stops once you've had them for years!

I was thinking I might do a follow up post as a kind of step on from the basics. DE would be a good one to cover in that, thank you. I sometimes forget things like that as I don't user a purpose made dust bath. Not everyone likes to use it though.

When we had a problem with lice in our new chickens (they came with them! Bummer.), we also used clean wood ash, and it cleared up the problem well! Since we're trying to be self-sustainable on our small homestead, we figured there had to be something else that could work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43