Chilli chicken... the chook who changed my life

in #chicken6 years ago

Yesterday I said goodbye to a special friend who made me laugh and reminded me of the beauty in life. Her name was Chilli... Chilli Chicken.

Chilli was super funny. She had spunk. She would chase cockatoos, pin them down and pluck out their feathers. She even muscled her way around Bellie - our rather large great dane dog - to successfully steal her food. She had balls! She was so much bigger than her size. I loved that.

Every morning she would be waiting eager to be the first one let out of the chook pen. Proudly leading her tribe behind her. Head chook. Leader of the pack. She was the first to greet you each time you walked out the house or arrived home and was always interested in a treat or two.

chilli.jpg

Then recently we noticed she wasn't following us as quickly as she use to. She was lagging behind the pack and moving much slower. A trip to the vet, a little de-worming and we thought that would do the trick. She picked up a little. But not for long.

Our beautiful girl slowed right down this week. Not moving much, resting and preparing for the change to take place. I spent most afternoons with her, singing, chatting away and wishing so hard that she would choose to stay in our lives. Such a sweet girl she was. I knew deep down that her time was nearing the end. I fought this feeling. I wanted her to stay. To continue to make me laugh, to play, to chase and follow us around the place... chattering away.

She passed away yesterday afternoon, she hung on until we got home for one last goodbye. I held her wrapped in a blanket and sang to her watching the sunset. You will be forever in our sunsets and our hearts beautiful Chilli.

And I know this is not the end. It is a new beginning for you. And when I connect in... I still feel her warmth around.

Tears flow full of love. I miss our beautiful girl. She taught me strength, spunk and compassion.

This post is dedicated to you beautiful Chilli. May you enjoy many treats, wriggly worms and dirt baths in your new world. Love you.

Sort:  

Oh she sounds just amazing and I'm so sorry that your time with her has come to a close. Though as you've said, she's on to her next adventure and that sounds like good fortune wherever she 'lands' next. Travel well Chilli.

Much love and heartfelt thanks... with her spunk I am sure she will land very comfortably. haha :) xx

They do touch us so deeply, these beautiful beings.
Tears flowing here too :)
XXX

Thank you Eleyana - so true. She was very healing for me... helped me shift some old sadness I had held onto. xxx

Congratulations @nicolelee, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @nicolelee! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nicolelee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56