You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Silly Hens

in #chicken6 years ago

Lol. We have a handful of mystery mixes we hatched out under a Spitzhauben hen that went broody in the beginning of this winter after apparently hoarding eveyone's eggs in the whole pen for a few days without us realizing it! Some of them are pretty neat looking! Your lady here is pretty whatever her parentage! I had said, "Nope! Absolutely not, we're not getting chickens!" ... That was about a year and a half ago... We now have almost 70. Not a typo. Lol. SMH When I finally caved and said "O.K maybe just a few... " I started to research, and found a whole new world I had never known existed! (I had always thought chickens were fine, but kinda boring and I didn't think much about them. They just didn't interest me much. Then ...I found out there were Rock Star chickens!!! :O LOL! Chickens with Mowhawks and all black ones and Oh my GOSH The Cream Legbars!!! Yep, I have a lot of different pure bred chickens, also we have a lot from TSC ,and they all eat better than I do sometimes, but I love our mixed ones just as much! I'd be so sad without my chickens! Lol We also have a bachelor flock kind of experiment going on at the moment... we'll see how that works out... Haha! I look forward to seeing more of your cuties! :D

Sort:  

Oh, you have the bug!! there are so many varieties out there.....
And some are sooooo good looking :)

Oh my gosh YES I do. LOL. It's really bad. It went below zero and I was out every night checking on them (I really can't stand cold) and I was like what was I thinking!?! and then I looked at my little babies and ws like awww! SMH

One of the coolest looking chicks we hatched out is from my two most favorite looking breeds when it comes to roosters... (sigh, It won't be laying any eggs) it's a Cream Legbar x Svart cockerel. He's really neat looking. All black with a white pattern around his neck, and a crest! I'm cringing at the thought of TSC this week as I believe they get chicks in and day now. I'm not buying any more but it's going to be hard... ROFL!

Wishing you the strength to say NO! It will be hard! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39