Hello from a Steemit newbie

in #chicago7 years ago

I grew up in the northwest suburbs of Chicago, seeing the skyscrapers off in the distance. I seem to move around a lot, but always near that big ol city, never expecting to actually live in it. Then I had a bit of a breakdown and ended up homeless on the southside of Chicago. I never lived on the street as I was given a bus pass to Pacific Garden mission and stayed there for almost two years. All of that is a long story and just might be a big part of my journaling here. Upon graduation I bought a Galaxy s2 phone and set out exploring and taking pictures in the alleys. Most photographers I noticed take pictures of the pretty buildings and skyline, but I wanted to record the stuff most people never saw. Chicago has 1,900 miles of alleys and in the last 4 years I've explored around 600 of them, taking pictures of the rusty beat up stuff, odd almost organic growth, graffiti and garage murals and artwork in out of the way places.It's really been a treasure hunt, good exercise and a calming escape away from the crowds for me.
I also do wild abstract computer graphics, been known to photobomb tourists at the Chicago bean, record videos of the subway buskers and build giant Lego spaceships. Oh, I used to build cages for tigers and lions and once was a bouncer at a church.
How long are these intros supposed to be?
That's all for now, nice to meet you soon!333 radiator 8.jpg

20130114_100810.jpg20130316_143324.jpg

Sort:  

Hey now! Welcome to the party!
What do you normally shoot with?
I'm looking forward to your posts, uprooted & followed!

I just use my cell phone, now a Galaxy S5. I also practice no editing of the images. I have and know how to use Photoshop, but I like the challenge of having to get it right in the moment and keeping it honest to it.

That's sweet! Way to go! What was the first shot of? I like the colors in it!

Welcome.

Looking forward to see more pictures from you.

Which kind of church needs a bouncer btw?? Or is this a joke I am not getting and just made a fool out of myself....

LOL, nope, for reals. I got invited to a party there once and went back enough times that they asked me to help with people that where trouble. It was just technically a church, http://www.upi.com/Archives/1983/12/01/Judge-shuts-down-party-church/2046439102800/

Welcome @allaywalker
Here is few tips for you
firstly, follow me @digital-entrep and be subjected to wonderful posts that would help you grow in the platform
secondly, sign up with steemit chat to help promote your post reach a wider audience
thirdly, engage(upvote, comment, resteem) other people posts to help guide your grow

Pretty cool welcome to Steemit!!! I have family in Chicago!! Always good to see new people.

Thanks! I've been doing FB for years, but it's all outrage over there now. I do Google plus and built up 18,000 followers, but if I can make money doing what I'm addicted to? YES!

i live in chicago too. i will follow you... i take photos of businesses and upload them to google maps quite often. its crazy how many views get tacked on to some of those photos. welcome to steemit

Welcome on board :)

Found it! Yay!

Thanks for getting me into this, much appreciated.

It will take a while for you to get fired up, but I promote your posts on SteemChat and SteemTrail. We can talk about those later.

Congratulations @alleywalkler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84