Well this is bittersweet. You're in check, but it came at a price.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #chessmatch8 years ago (edited)

Check has always struck me as something of a hollow victory. Multiple checks don't add up to a single 'checkmate', and the player in check suffers no material loss. Is this what my bishop fought and died for?

A real bishop, Richard Bell, died a non chess-related death in 1496, leaving behind something of a mystery.
Did the artist model his engravings on real dinosaurs he'd actually seen, or is paleontology several hundred years older than we thought, or maybe these aren't sauropods?


Original image and article

Blocktrades is really pulling ahead on the leaderboard now. He's a quality opponent and something of an enigma, but I do miss brendio's sheep

Just look at that bishop, standing alone, proud and defiant. Before this happened....

My regular, grown up, videographer will be back tomorrow.
Today's gif looks like it was shot by a 10 year old, so I'm very proud of my 6 year old :)

I'm posting 2 hours early today, as my Dad and I are taking my boys to a special event at a waterslide park, from 11 til 3.
There's only one move posted, and it has quite a lot of support, so I'm locking it in.

Backstory here
Follow @mattclarke for future installments.

Have a fantastic day

Sort:  

love the chess set :) and your videographer has a promising career.

Thanks, countrygirl. He recently worked out the truth about this time of year, which gutted his mum.
I'm pretty sure you're supposed to get more than 6 innocent Christmases, but he's too clever for his own good.

booo.....different world than when I was a kid....I think I got maybe 9 years? I was so gullible though.....I think my kids were about 7 or 8 when they figured things out too.

The sheep are at my sister-in-law's place. The kids had the board set up while I was there browsing Steem while my wife talked. So, I hurriedly set it up to post a move. Look closing and you'll see the black and white squares (and hence the king and queen's positions) are inverted from your board.

I still have at least another chess set to use yet if I'm quick enough to post a good move before others beat me to it. (I was 11 minutes too slow yesterday; Way off today.)

That's funny because I initially set the board up with King/Queen inverted, and almost posted it.
I just doublechecked before posting, at work, on a whim several hours later, and had to reshoot my first gif the next day.
Timing is hard because I don't want my life to revolve around posting at an exact time, which is why I gave myself a one hour window initially.
Today I went two hours early, which I wouldn't normally do.
Three factors influenced my decision.
A: It would have totally thrown out the plans of several other people for me to be in front of a PC between 12 and 1.
B: Blocktrades was overwhelmingly the favourite, with no other competitors.
C: You guys only had one move available, which made the whole thing kind of redundant.
I hate breaking my own rules, because I think something like this can only work if the players have some certainty, but I think in this case, I broke the letter of the law, but not the spirit.
Happily lots of upvotes though, so you're a forgiving bunch :)

I'm not too worried about the timing. I don't like to be tied to a computer and I'm sure others around me don't like me to either.

Next move is up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52