Where's Bobby Fischer and Garry Kasparov? Giant Chessboard in Morro Bay

in #chessboard7 years ago

I have never played chess, but I enjoyed watching a young boy and a younger man playing on one of the largest chessboards in the United States.

IMG_0768.JPG

A woodpusher and a future grandmaster?

IMG_0769.JPG

The first chess game was played by the two main creators of the project on December 6, 1975.

IMG_0770.JPG

The chess pieces were made with redwood timbers from two old water tanks that served the town of Morro Bay for more than 50 years. The chess pieces weigh from 18 to 30 pounds. The concrete chessboard measures 16 feet by 16 feet.

I'm @runridefly, and I need to learn how to play chess, so I can play the game with my two young sons.

Sort:  

This is lovely
My best board game

I've always wanted to play on one of these massive sized chessboards. Looks like a fun relaxing afternoon :)

It's a fun game and I would love to have a chance to play on life size board!

Great chess board indeed, though i dont know how to play it.

best photos are with an old man and a kid playin ;)

I did played the large too in Amsterdam. It was great with the nice cold beer in the middle of city. I like to play chess, but I am not good in it. Thanks for sharing 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

Thats a cool thing to have setup and interesting history must have been fun to watch

Great! I would go for a ride when I have the temp. I am a passionate of chess

Chess, learn it minutes and master it over a lifetime and want to smash the board to pieces when you didnt see how obvious it was that they could checkmate you in three moves...

nice post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.21
ETH 2472.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67