You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chess and my evolution in logic (featuring @fred703 as author)

in #chess8 years ago

I think one of the transferable skills of playing Chess, is being able to have a large working memory which can reorganise very quickly. Being able to plot the potential moves ahead requires that large and flexible working memory, and also happens to be something widely attributed to people with traditionally high IQ.

Most people I have met who are Chess Masters also excel in at least one other skillset. Of course, without tenacity, those who work really hard could potentially catch up provided the guys with natural flare remain complacent.

I think you have chosen a good path to enjoy playing Chess, there are so many stories (even movies) about chess players who have very damaged personal lives due to over investing their time into trying to be the absolute best.

Sort:  

thanks for some good insights. I think I must do a follow up as the commentators here have raised some excellent aspects I now remember

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43