You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chess problem 61 / Schachaufgabe 61

in #chess6 years ago

Sooorry I was wrong!

I can't find a mate, but if whites play knight E8, after QxE8 Rf6
If black captures, Qxh6 #

So the best movement is G6 and after Qxh6, Kg6, R(f)xg6, Fxg6, Rxg6 and whites have to sacrife their Queen and lose the knight after Qxg6 playing with advantage.

I'm just getting started with chess, maybe I'm wrong, I tried my best :)

Also Rxg7 leads to a draw, after Qg4 the king moves to H8 and Qh5 endlessly or otherwise it's a checkmate.
But I don't think a draw is the solution hehe, just mentioning it in case it's correct :)

Tried my best!

Sort:  
  1. Ne8 Qxe8
  2. Rf6 g6
  3. Qxh6+ Kg8

Can white win now?

Yes, White can with 4. Rg5. The idea is to play 5.Rh5 next - if the rook is taken then the mate sequence is 6.Qg5+ Kh8/h7 7.Rh6 mate!
If Black plays 1...Bxe8 (idea: 2.Rg5 Nxe5! 3.Rh5? Ng4! check and the queen on h6 will be taken on next move) instead of 1...Qxe8 (idea: Qd8 keeps in touch with rook on f6 to enable the defence Nxe5 as shown) then 2.R5xg6 wins as the rook on f8 is unprotected now (no queen on e8!)
If this is the right solution 1.Ne8 is a wonderful move and very hard to be seen :-)

After Rg5, Nxf2 and nothing is threatened. Blacks can promote their pawn peacefully while drinking soda and there is no way to avoid it unless whites move one of the pieces threatening a checkmate, losing the game.

Good objection :-) If I play 5. h5 then? Blacks position is pretty cramped and I don't see a defence against 6.hxg6 and mate soon. In that case White will drink soda :-)
By the way: One white rook is on f6, so there is no piece taking on f2. The whole line we discuss is:
1.Ne8 Qxe8
2.Rf6 g6
3.Qxh6+ Kg8
4.Rg5 now if
a) 4...Nf2 5.h5
b) 4...Nxe5 5.Rxe5 renewing the threat Rh5

  1. h5! wins even faster!

After Kg8,

1)Rxg6 + Fxg6
2)Rxg6 + Qxg6
3)Qxg6 + Kh8
4)QxD3

But I think the best solution (taking into account blacks are about to promote a pawn and can defend the position) is a draw like this:

1)Rxg7+ HxG7
2)Qg4+ Kh8
3)Qh5 (again threatening mate in one) + Kg7 (to avoid the mate) and so on...

Is it an unavoidable draw if black plays correctly?

No! The aim is to win as white! :)

@jaki01 I'm 99.9% sure this is a draw. Since no one has answered yet, I had plenty of time to study this game and even downloaded a chess program to my computer and it says this game is a draw, after that I asked a friend from Canada who is 1900 ELO (not a lot but still better than me) and he couldn't see a mate either. After that I asked GM Vallejo (it was a great honor for me that he answered,lol) and he said this.

In English it means "Hello, I don't know. It's easy to make a draw here..but if a computer doesn't find a solution...I don't think I can."

Sorry haha, I did everything I could, but at the end of the day it seems like the right solution is a draw unless black pieces make a mistake. I couldn't have figured this out by myself, but this puzzle blew me out of the water, very difficult...

Going to sleep now that I finally found the answer, thank you for making me think a lot to solve this puzzle :)

@jaki01 I'm 99.9% sure this is a draw.

Please check the solution above!
Greetings to GM Vallejo. :-)

Maybe it's a belated Aprils fool joke 🤪
Now that I know that far superior players also don't seem to find the solution I can stop thinking - or is use it as extra motivation? :D
Well, I will give it a few more minutes with my afternoon coffee!

Just check the solution above. :)

I meant Rxg7 already corrected it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43