Chess problem 53 / Schachaufgabe 53

in #chess6 years ago (edited)

English


Hi chess fans! :)
During the last months you all have proven more than once how skillful you are when it comes to tactics and attacking the opponent's king.
This time however, I want to check your endgame knowledge: you have to decide if black is able to hold a draw or not. What do you think? Move as black! :)

Deutsch


Hallo Schachfreunde! :)
Während der letzten Monate habt ihr alle mehr als einmal gezeigt, wie taktisch begabt ihr seid und wie erfindungsreich, wenn es darum geht, den gegnerischen König anzugreifen.
Dieses Mal will ich jedoch eure Endspielkenntnisse testen: ihr habt zu entscheiden, ob Schwarz dazu in der Lage ist, ein Remis zu erreichen oder nicht? Was denkt ihr? Scharz ist am Zug! :)


FEN: 8/p1k3p1/P7/8/3K1pp1/8/4B1P1/8 b - - 0 1

Black to move: / Schwarz am Zug:


Sort:  

Hi @jaki01
I think black can draw, let's see:

  1. ... f3
  2. gxf3 g3
  3. Ke3 g2
  4. kf2 g1=Q+
  5. Kxg1 later, the White king will eat the pawn of g2 with the help of the bishop and will win

But, on the other hand,

  1. ... f3
  2. gxf3 gxf3
  3. Bxf3 Kb6
  4. Be2 g5
  5. Ke5 g4
  6. Kf4 g3
  7. Kxg3 Kc5
  8. Kf4 Kb6
  9. Ke5 Kc5
  10. Ke6 Kc6
  11. Ke6 Kc5 The black king stops the white king and the match is draw. The bishop can't do a lot beacause the black pawn is on a black square.

Yes, indeed, the point is to recognize that in this position white cannot win with king, bishop and pawn against king and pawn! You were the first who came up with this idea! :)

Not easy to believe that this really should be a draw!! :)

I think the most promising drawing plan is to get rid of the king side pawns and just have the black king camp out between c7 b8 squares. One possible sequence:

f3, ...

regardless of what white does next, that g2 pawn is going away.

..., gxf3
gxf3, Bxf3
Kb6, Bb7
Kc7,

From here black can just give away his g7 pawn somehow. Afterwards have the black king shuffle between c7 and b8. White won't be able to make any progress since black king can't be kicked out of the corner. If white's king ever gets too close like d7, d6, c6 etc. that's stalemate.

Like @juanmi96 you had the correct idea that white actually cannot win with king, bishop and pawn against king and pawn in this special position. Well done!

Hi @jak01. This is a difficult one. At first I figured I would just try to get rid of the two pawns. You can't checkmate with a king and a bishop so that seems the easiest solution to me. However, I can't figure out a guaranteed way to do that. Then I figured that if the black king stayed at b8 it would essentially force a draw. Here is my solution:

...f3
gxf3, gxf3
Bxf3 Kb8

From here, the king will either move to a8 or c8 depending on the position of the bishop. White king will never be able to take the pawn at a7 because the king will block approach by b7 and the pawn blocks approach by b6. White bishop is the wrong color to take the pawn as well.
The white pawn at a6 limits the black king's movement and I can't find a single configuration of white's pieces that will actually checkmate at this point.

Well done as well, even if @juanmi96 and @greatwolf were a little bit faster.

Nice and surprising solution! One wouldn't think that Black can hold a draw. But with reduced material and with rookpawns you always have to keep in mind that such things can happen.

I am not good at chess (This does not stop me from playing my spouse and losing terribly) - and my ability to think several steps ahead in almost all capacities is substantially limited.

But, I feel like moving the black pawn on F4 to F3 basically ensures a draw.

If the bishop takes your pawn, you take the bishop, white takes the second pawn - then the board is two pawns and a king each, and that seems like draw territory with the right pawns trapped where they are.

If the white pawn takes your pawn, you move the other pawn to g3. That forces the bishop to block g2 to avoid a black queens, which holds the bishop in stasis and effectively turns the board into the two pawns and king each, especially as your king is safe on brown squares.

All the other possible moves by white in response seem like obvious f*#k ups...

Now that I've spilled the guts of my poorly informed guess out into the blockchain forever, I await knowledge of the super obvious thing I'm missing :)

OK, let's see. You suggest:

  1. ... f3
  2. gxf3 g3.
    What about if white plays Ke3 (followed by f4, Kf3) now to catch the black pawn? :)

If after

  1. ....f3
  2. Ke3 then fxe2
  3. Kxe2 then Kb6 is winning a pawn and with it being passed will be easy win for Black.

No, I mean Ke3 in the end:

  1. ... f3
  2. gxf3 g3
  3. Ke3.

haha - I totally forgot to even consider the king. I'll show myself out. :)

Its black which is going to win dear @jaki01

I am glad atleast I found a friend who is interested in chess.....

Can you and me play a game in chess24 please if you dont mind

Have a great day.

No, black has to fight for the draw. Check abov, @juanmi96 has found the solution.

Difficult to be draw , thats black to be loser

Black actually can reach a draw: check the solution above by @juanmit96.

A very good game Sir @jaki01, we all agree that the game of chess is a game that is intelligent. Actually I really want to follow the contest to address the problem in a chessboard, but because I was a chess player amateurs so I just learn some comments from some steemian's, and it's very interesting in my opinion. An intelligent article Sir @jaki01, in the future I will contribute. ;)

Good post sob.

I likes playing this game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16