Chess pieces #1: phantastic chess game

in #chess6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

this is my first post and it will be about chess. As I did not write an introducemyself post yet (need more time, will do this later) I'd like to write some words about me here instead: I was a chess player on club level (highest ELO rating about 2100) a couple of years ago, but nowadays I do not play tournament chess games any more - just watching games on the internet or solving chess puzzles from time to time.

Today I came across an absolutely phantastic chess game which MUST be shared with you. It has been played by two Chinese chess players recently (both grandmasters). The player who had the black pieces showed some very,very creative moves.

Here is the first crucial position: it is Blacks 20th move to find:

Ding, Liren, ELO 2772

Black to move: 20......?

Bai, Jinshi ELO 2553

Black already sacrificed his queen and got some compensation (the white king is in trouble). Black found a very good move in this position. How did he continue his attack?

I'd like to share a link to a video which explains all the moves of the players. The video is 18 minutes long and annotated by English grandmaster Daniel King.

Hence, if you'd like to enjoy it, you'll need to invest some time to watch it ;-) But it is absolutely worth it - promised! Here we go: http://de.chessbase.com/post/ding-liren-spielt-glanzpartie

You just have to scroll down a little bit and click on the video. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Nice to see that you are writing about chess, too, now. Hope to read more in future. :)

Nice riddle and certainly a hard one. I'd guess black should move the pawn to G5 to threaten the king, but I'm not sure. One piece of advice... label the rows/columns so we can more accurately describe moves.

Hi TKing77798, very true! Thanks for your helpful hint. I have updated the diagram accordingly.

I'm not a hard core fan of chess so I don't understand chess more than the playing rule. But you'd definitely got an upvote and resteem from me. ;-)

Thank you! At least one comment, I am so glad about that :-)

Black horse jump white horse chess mate.

I guess you mean Horse on c6 takes horse on e5? - That horse is protected by the bishop on g3. Otherwise it would be mate, true.

Congratulations @iceblue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That game is somewhat of a free for all! I like the board at the bottom where you can flick through the moves.

Yes, sure, I just wanted to point out to that game as I thought it is really worth not to overlook it. With my next article I will do more own work.

Ah, sorry by "free-for-all" I meant a crazy game, everything attacking each other in all directions! It's a phrase / idiom. Wasn't a criticism. Nice to see some more chess posts. Welcome!

I see, thanks for clarifying and explaining that expression ! - didn't know it, helps me to improve, thank you! Yes, the game is really crazy with some phantastic lines/pictures, especially at the end of the game.

Great points.. thanks for bringing these important points in our view.
I've resteemed your post!

Congratulations @iceblue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I really couldn't have foreseen all those moves since the Queen's sacrifice.
As John Travolta said in the movie Phenomenon: "Too complex"

I learned chess at nine (a little bit late). At sixteen I was interested in chess programming and read an article in a magazine called Popular Mechanics talking about the problems of programming perfect chess. Now I'm almost 50 and I'm amazed that the problems still remain.

Programming the perfect chess player is easy. A low profile programmer can do it. The basic problem has been and still is the speed of the computers. Computers of these days are incredibly fast, but not fast enough to solve chess.

Greetings from Venezuela!

Congratulations @iceblue! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04