Computer-Generated Chess Problem 01749

in #chess6 years ago

A unique or new KBNPP vs knnp mate in 5 chess problem generated autonomously by a computer using the Digital Synaptic Neural Substrate (DSNS) computational creativity approach. It doesn't use endgame tablebases, neural networks or any kind of machine learning found in traditional AI. There is also no proven limit to the quantity or type of legal compositions that can be automatically generated.

8/8/7p/kPK1B3/N1n5/8/1P6/1n6 w - - 0 1
Chesthetica v10.57 : Selangor, Malaysia
White to Play and Mate in 5 : 2017.11.28 11:07:36 PM
Solvability Estimate: Moderate

White has a slight material advantage over Black. Do you think you could have composed something better with these pieces? Share in the comments and let us know how long it took you. Take some time to study the analysis and you might appreciate the puzzle a little more.

< | Facebook | Twitter | Kindle E-book | Website | Reddit| >

Sort:  

Ah. I thought I solved it, but I forgot to count my moves on my fingers.

I saw up to king captures knight on c4, then thought that pushing the pawn to promotion of rook or queen (forcing black to move the h-pawn, as the king is without moves), then queen/ rook to a8#.

I didn't realize that took 7 moves to accomplish and got myself excited thinking that I solved it :(

Odds are that's how I would play it over the board if I didn't realize that this was a mate puzzle, especially in short time controls. I guess that's a sign that I need to start paying more attention to mating nets, as other forcible alternative mates obviously aren't always present in these types of positions (= losing winning positions).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35