Kasparov to play in Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz Tournament

in #chess7 years ago

Garry Kasparov. whom many consider to be the greatest chess player of all time is going to play in Saint Louis Rapid and Blitz next month and is termed one of the "Wild Cards".
participant.jpg

Kasparov, now 54, said: "It's a thrill to officially be returning to the game, and certainly not something I would have anticipated more than a decade after my retirement. Coming back to the board in St. Louis is truly an honor – I wouldn't want to commemorate this moment anywhere else."
kasparov.jpg
He also said this on July 5:

I'm delighted to have the chance to return to the chessboard against elite competition in St. Louis. Rapid and blitz against such a strong field will be by far my toughest test since I retired in 2005. I'm not leaving behind the very full life I've led since then, however. My family, my political activism, speaking and writing, coaching—there is little time for the dedication serious chess requires and deserves. But for me, playing in St. Louis is special, not least because it is a way to say thanks for what the Sinquefield family has done to promote the game there and worldwide, especially in education. Thanks to the Sinquefields, St. Louis has become the global chess capital and the atmosphere there is something approximating the enthusiasm and respect for chess culture back in the Soviet Union—and you can see that the results are excellent as well. I'm very comfortable there, and while I have no plans to play elsewhere I hope to do well enough to honor such a wonderful event with my chess, not just my name

@Kasparov63 tweeted:
Ready to see if I remember how to move the pieces! Will I be able to announce my re-retirement afterward if not?!

Source: chess.com

Sort:  

@adexico07
Great content!
Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome! He seems not to be sure if he is going to re-retire.

You are welcome! He seems not to be sure if he is going to re-retire

Congratulations @adexico07! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59519.43
ETH 2458.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47