You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chemistry Lesson: Part 4 (Calculating Atomic Mass and Writing Chemical Reactions)

in #chemistry-lesson8 years ago

One stupid question: why do you have (g) next to each element participating to the illustrative chemical reaction?

That also remains me that the major different with a particle physics collision is that the number of particles is not conserved in particle physics, which contrasts with chemistry.

Sort:  

(g) in that case refers to the fact that the molecules participating in that reaction are all in the gas phase. I will explain that sort of thing in coming posts, however that is the actual reaction so I wanted to write it correctly.

As for particles, well chemistry is a more macroscopic look at these phenomenon. We all know that when you get down to the quantum levels the rules of the game are significantly different :)

Ohh the (g) was this... Indeed I could have guessed. Thanks!

Your posts are bringing back memories about my former chemistry courses... I was the official pipette breaker of the chemistry labs when I entered the university...

I usually use plastic pipettes ( I don't work with any volatile solvents that could dissolve them) because the glass ones are just too easy to break!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70