You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chemistry Lesson: Part 3 (The Periodic Table and Nomenclature for Molecular and Ionic Compounds)

in #chemistry-lesson8 years ago

Steemit developer should definitely allow for latex... ;) By the way, I once read that the entire period table was relying in group theory. Do you have any information on this?

PS: I love the cations-cats stuff. Never heard that before ^^

Sort:  

It would be nice to be able to subscript something yeah, so incorporating latex would be nice. I do not believe the periodic table was assembled taking group theory into consideration (at least not consciously), however there are articles out their discussing it in a group theory context. (Example: https://arxiv.org/ftp/quant-ph/papers/0503/0503039.pdf). My knowledge of abstract algebra is fairly limited, and I have never thought about this, nor learned any extensive information. So unfortunately I have to plead ignorance on this one.

Yeah the cation-cat thing is a lame chemistry joke that my professor in undergrad loved to say (repeatedly... :D )! I love a good lame joke, plus it makes a good memory device.

I now remember the annnnnnnion negative that I learned many years ago :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71