Is being a chef still desirable for younger generation?

in #chef7 years ago (edited)

2017-10-28-22-23-18-.jpg

I started pretty late in my life to persue my dream of becoming a chef. I went to the LCB which in hindsight was a bad investment setting me back 50k$. At that time I really didn't understand the difference between a really busy service and cooking a dish by yourself during class. I was living and breathing cooking. I consumed every youtube clip about cooking and fine dining. Bought some cooking books and tried some dishes at home. I was determined to start cooking in a fine dining place. Fortunatly at that time i had passive income to support myself. In the industry it's a must to stage (unpaid work) at good places to boost your career. This comes with a price. Since profit margins are really slim in the gastronomy especially with fine dining places owners can't afford to have many people on their pay roll. Hours are long pay is low and the tone very harsh at times to say the least. I've decided to leave the kitchen as soon as alternatives will present itself. Cooking for 5 years has taken it's toll on my mental and physical health. I don't regret persuing my dream but at the end of the day we need to pay our bills. You might agree or disagree but I advice anyone who wants to become a chef to think about it twice. There are many reasons why I love to cook but I lost my passion for the industry because of how people are treated and getting exploid. Maybe some of you guys can share your story and a take on being a chef.

Sort:  

Congratulations @greasyfingers! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81