Steemit.chat - Stop @all in notifications in specific channels

in #chat8 years ago

Imgur

After being annoyed to no end by people abusing the @all tag in steemit.chat, I wandered off looking for a solution. You can disable notifications for a specific channel and it prevents the @all tag from notifying you. I never want anyone to notify me in that channel... so why not just disable it?

Unfortunately, rocket.chat doesn't have support (at least that I could find), for disabling the @all tag on an administrative level. I suppose they just figure everyone's going to use it responsibly.

As someone who works on my computer all day, I get annoyed as hell at the handful of these each day that occur. Hope this helps someone reduce their blood pressure as much as it's going to help reduce mine.

Sort:  

Nice one @jesta. I also saw people asking how to get out of a specific channel.
Here's how:

  • Click on that channel name in the left panel. Apparently the channel needs to be active for the leave icon to show
  • click on the icon that looks like a square and has an arrow pointing right
    Imgur
    DONE!

Right with you there Jesta. I enabled notifications on my phone because if someone messages me I want to get notified, but im getting blown up with @all messages as well which is really annoying.

Thanks for the tip.

Do you also have an impression that steemit.chat becomes unresponsive when many users are typing at the same time?

I use the downloaded OSX app - it gets really laggy and crashes on me a lot :(

I haven't been stuck in any channels yet, is this something new?

there was this dude yesterday dragging everyone to a #main channel he just created because he got muted in #general and ppl didn't know how to get out of it.

No you're free to leave channels.

I do sometimes enjoy the conversations that occur in these channels (general, postpromotion, etc) so I don't want to just leave them. But I also don't think I ever want to be notified if someone uses @all. If someone wants my attention, they can PM me now.

Useful hint. Didn't know that! Thanks for sharing mate. Bit by bit I feel more confortable like home

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.8 and reading ease of 70%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Keep up the great work @jesta
Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44