Donate Some Blood. Save A Million Lives.

in #charity7 years ago

I am into Blood Donation.


It all started when I was in highschool. I registered as a Red Cross Volunteer way back highschool. I am not that proud because I wasn't active like my colleagues. But when it comes to blood donation, I'M PROUD TO BE ONE.



Taken this photo during my second blood donation at my previous work. This is ME.


I'm not afraid with needles. Maybe a bit immune with that. But have you seen have long and huge needles used for blood donation? Hehehe. Just search for it. This is not to frigthened you on the process. But for you to know the process.


Blood Donation has many benefits as well. 

  1. Burn up to 650 calories per donation.
  2. Enhances the prodution of new blood.
  3. Reduces cancer risk.
  4. Maintain healthy heart and liver.
  5. Most of all, SAVE A MILLION LIVES!


Below are very useful links for blood donation benefits.

https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/319366.php

http://nbts.gov.jm/benefits-of-donating-blood/

https://www.organicfacts.net/health-benefits/other/blood-donation.html


As of today, its been 2years already since I last donate some blood. My last blood donation were done at my previous job. If I countnit right, I have donated blood 6times already. And I'm looking forward to donate blood this year. 


I don't go to hospital or Red Cross for blood donation. I only participate if there are Blood Donation campaign in school, in my barangay or work places. 



I am Mae Marife, 25years of age, from the beautiful Pearl of the Orient Seas, PHILIPPINES!


- Fey


Photos attached in this article are from @smafey unless credits to the owner.



Let's us help @surpassinggoogle by voting @steemgigs as Steemit Witness. He has a BIG heart and truly a HELPING HAND to this community.


Sort:  

I didn't know you could lose that much calories if you donate blood. That's is interesting. I have no idea about blood donating. But I remember as a kid there were weekends where me and my mom would go to the hospital so they could take blood sample from me to test. I forgot what was the reason for but I think it was for my recurring headaches. This was after a car accident I got into. Maybe I'll donate, too, if I have had enough rest lol!

You can even donate blood at any hospital at your place. Me, what I usually did was donate blood at Red cross or if there is a blood donation campaign in my barangay. It feels different afterwards. Especially the feeling of you'll be able to save someone else's life. :)

@smafey

I'll do that and inquire further about it. They screen you if you can donate blood or not, right?

I have not tried donating blood. I am sickly but I really want to do it sometime.

They will do some blood test naman if pwede ka for donation e. Worth a try. Well, worth it talaga. :)

@smafey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53