Raising money for Kingsmill Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone, a few of you may have noticed the power down on my account... Don't worry I'm not leaving! I just powered down for the sake of experience and having a play with what to do with the steem I have accumulated so far :)

I powered down 150 steem and left the remain 41 in my steem power. The plan is to donate the money to the neonatal unit that my little boy, Oscar spent his short time with us on. The care he received was second-to-none and I cannot fault any of the nurses, midwifes or doctors for what happened...

justigiving.JPG

I feel that I need to raise money for this intensive care unit to give myself some sort of relief and comfort, knowing that other babies who are and will be in Oscar's position can receive the same top class care and hopefully enable some unfortunate parents to avoid going through what myself and Jade had to and still are enduring.

Losing our baby at 4 days old has taken its toll on my mental health but slowly, I am getting better, it's a case of ups and downs with no warning when the next bout of depression will kick me.

Anyway... To keep myself busy and give me the drive I need to carry on forwards, I am taking part in a number of charity walks and races.

This weekend in my hometown village of Tibshelf, an annual wheel barrow race in memory of my friend's father who sadly passed away from cancer a few years ago. The wheel barrow race is always held on his birthday and this weekend it would of been Kev's 50th. We will have collection buckets for the Kingsmill neonatal unit following the race and they will be present in the local pubs as the race begins at the White Hart at the top of the village and passes by another 2 pubs finishing at the final pub, The Crown Hotel.

After this, my place of work are organising the Yorkshire 3 peaks hike. 24 miles in a day covering the 3 peaks of Whernside, Ingleborough and Pen-y-ghent. This is planned to take place at the end of September. A just giving page has been set up for me to receive donations, covering this hike and the wheel barrow race and the final fund raising event... The coast to coast hike!

The coast to coast hike is 192 miles from west coast to east coast and will take at least 12 days although our itinerary is currently planning to complete in a less than 14 days. This event will be taken up by a team of friends and family, but it still very much in the planning and training stages... Updates can be followed on the just giving page and of course I will keep you all updated on here as well :)

Here is a link to the just giving page, if anybody feels like donating either because you support me and Jade, or because you yourself have experienced what we have been through then please do, every penny/dime/cent/dollar/pound counts!

Link to the Just Giving page

I thank any of you in advance and will be back with an update post after this weekend's wheel barrow bonanza!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73