2 out of 3 ain't bad... The Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge - 24 miles of grueling steep terrain! Apologies for the sideways photographs!

in #charity6 years ago

On Friday, myself and 8 work colleagues embarked in the early hours up to the Yorkshire Dales to the small village of Horton in Ribblesdale to tackle the Yorkshire 3 Peaks of Pen-Y-Ghent, Whernside and Ingleborough. The hike consists of 24 miles of rough terrain, scrambling up a total of 5740 feet of peaks!

We arrived around 8.30am and set off towards to the first peak, Pen-Y-Ghent. It started off steadily before rapidly becoming steeper and steeper with some all fours climbing in parts. The first mistake made by myself was at this stage, I hadn't let my breakfast settle and using the long lost ab muscles caused my stomach some upset pretty much all the way to the top of the first peak!

20180928_100201.jpg

Once at the top, I gathered my second wind and proceeded to descend down the other side and began the 10 mile hike over the bottom of the second peak, Whernside. This was the most pleasant part of the journey, crossing rivers and passing many potholes and caves, made for some very nice photographs, the feet were happy to walk across the soft grassland after the rough jagged rock steps that made up the first leg of Pen-Y-Ghent.

20180928_103613.jpg

20180928_121426.jpg

20180928_121923.jpg

As we approached the Ribblehead viaduct, we stopped at the half way car which was dropped here earlier in the morning and had a few snacks and tended to the rapidly forming blisters. We then made our start up the 4.5mile 1200feet climb to the 2nd peak of Whernside.

20180928_133037.jpg

The climb started off steady as we passed the station house at the side of the railway, before it started to ramp up the incline and the terrain started to get rough and rocky again. About 1.5 miles up and I began to fall behind, the ill effects of being house bound since losing Oscar in April was really taking it toll on me and doubts began to flood my head as I was left to entertain myself having dropped too far back to shout to the others that I was starting to struggle...

20180928_140050.jpg

20180928_141026.jpg

I reached the halfway point, the viaduct looked so close still but I was well over 2 miles away, I had completely lost sight of the others when two guys appeared and asked me if I was okay. We chatted for a few minutes before starting our ascent again, the two guys were professionals and experienced walkers. they had even done the 3 peaks twice in a weekend once doing a loop one way then in reverse the day after! I was in good hands.

IMG-20180928-WA0000.jpeg

20180928_150502.jpg

3 hours later, I finally reached the top and took some time to take in the views, looking west the sea was visible in Morecambe bay, I initially thought I was losing my mind, so I got my glasses out my bag to reassure my brain that I still had the mental capacity to safely get down the other side and back to the road level some 1200 feet below me.

20180928_152040.jpg

20180928_153234.jpg

The two gents that had nursed me up the remainder of the soul destroying climb weren't to continue with me and they turned around to return the way we came. They showed me the path onwards and again I was on my own as I made the steep and knee breaking descent towards the third and final peak named, Ingleborough.

20180928_162739.jpg

20180928_162745.jpg

20180928_164455.jpg

By the time I reached the road and path leading to the final peak I was well and truly broken, my recurring groin injury flared up and made walking extremely difficult. My battery was dying on my phone and the signal none existant. I sent my girlfriend a whatsapp message in the off chance that she received it and could inform my work to get in touch with the others now over a mile ahead of me. Luck was on my side and she successfully got in contact with my work after receiving the message!

20180928_173040.jpg

I began to follow the road back to the halfway car and Ribblehead viaduct. The same long continuous road seemed to stretch forever, the viaduct never getting closer, feet pulsing with pain from the blisters and the groin injury seizing up more as every second passed by. I finally approached the last corner when Marcus and Nick, two colleagues appeared from a side street!

20180928_173248.jpg

They had also called off the third peak because they weren't happy at not being able to see me behind them. I was relieved to see a familiar face and be able to talk to another human again, I had spent the last 4 hours speaking to myself and the sheep and cows I passed on my adventures.

We waited by the car but had no idea where the others were, after an hour and half, the sun went down and the rapidly falling temperatures began to grip us as we stood by the car with no keys to access it!

We finally made the decision to walk 10minutes down the road to the Ribblehead train station, and luckily the last train of the day was only 10 minutes away! We jumped on the train and got off at the next stop bringing us back to our starting point. Straight in to the pub and rewarded ourselves with a much needed pint!

We managed to raise almost £1400 in total, making the whole experience worthwhile. I am a little disappointed in not being able to complete the third peak but it also gave me a good kick up the arse to sort my ill health and fitness out. Training is now in the process for the coast to coast walk next year, which will see less miles per day but will require at least 12 days of continuous walking...

Thanks for the support and keep posted for the next event!

Sort:  

Congratulations @praada! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @praada, I reached out The UK Mine Exploration Facebook page and found you are already a member. A lot has changed since HF20, you should consider giving this another bash.

This kind of content would get curated on today's STEEM. My missus has also done the 3 peaks, and I have too but just one by one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94