Steemit, we adopted a piece of the rainforest!

in #charity6 years ago

That's right, all of your upvotes helped me adopt a little piece of rainforest.

Giving back to nature charity

My first Giving back to nature charity post resulted in an upvote value of $17.89. I received this for it: 7.473 SBD and 2.764 STEEM POWER.

Besides that, @agrojaya donated another 1 SBD to the cause, so that brings us to a total of 8.473 SBD and 2.764 Steem.

I managed to exchange this for 0.00395583 BTC, which translated to 0.06061351 ETH which, after fees, translated to 23 Euros.

So I headed over to their website, switched it to Dutch (easier for me!) and filled out the donation form:

Plus some personal info which I will not share here.

I paid for the actual donation through my bank account and that led me here:

And later, I got an e-mail with lots of personal info, so here is the censored version (Dutch, sorry):

And that's all there is to it! This just shows us how easy it is for a community like Steemit to do a little good. All it takes is a few upvotes, which cost you nothing and might even give you some curation rewards.

Thank you so much to everyone who upvoted the charity post and a special thanks to @agrojaya for the extra donation. I hope to do this again soon and hope to make it an even bigger success! If you have any suggestions for a charity focused on nature, feel free to mention it. I might just pick it as my next target (if I can find the means to fund them that is).

Sort:  

Crowdfunding rocks! Thanks for bringing awareness to this topic on Steem.

At Fundition.io, we help projects raise more money, with no fees. We would love to have you use our brand new platform! Please visit our friendly Discord (where our team will guide you) https://discord.me/fundition, or our website: https://fundition.io/, and start raising Steem (without any middleman) for your project today!

Thanks for the info @fundition, I'll check it out!

This is just terrific news!!! YAY STEEM Powered rainforest!!!!! Thank you everyone!!! <3 <3 I look forward to doing this again @playfulfoodie!! What a wicked idea, so nice to see it come to fruition!

Thank you so much for the positive and encouraging words @lyndsaybowes! I'm really happy we managed to do this aswell and definitely want to try it again some day :D

right on👌

This is an awesome initiative @playfulfoodie! It’s true, STEEM has the power to do ALOT of good for this world. Glad you took it into your own hands to make it happen. Cheers!

Yay! I'm so glad to see the result! 😃

Thanks for the reminder that Steemit makes so many things become possible! Way to go <3 Buy an island next!! c;

A whole island huh! Dare to dream big :D

Gotta have fun with our dreams c:

Thank you very much @playfulfoodie, on this platform we have to help each other, regardless of their tribe and religion. because we do this fellow human beings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65647.77
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60